Top 5 Wednesday | Top Graphic Novels

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (gingereadslainey on YT) on goodsreads. This week’s T5W is Top Graphic Novels. I don’t really read much graphic novels aside from Japanese manga, so that’s what I will do. My top 5 list is in no particular order.


kingyo-souKingyo Sou by Fujitsuka Yuki is probably my favourite shoujo manga of all time. It’s not too long, it only has two volumes, 8.2 chapters.

Kingyo Sou is about a girl named Asuka, who fell in love with a taiko player, Masami, when he heard him play during the spring festival. She later founds out that Masami is deaf, but that did not deters her from getting to know Masami. Their relationship has its ups and downs while Masami try to readjust, expanding his world, and Asuka tries to stop walking on eggshells around him.

I love that their romance is bittersweet, and I love the characters, especially Masami. Masami is an expressionless/emotionless person most of the time, and I like how he gets flustered or embarrassed when he tries to do something romantic for Asuka. I also love it that he’s blunt.

beauty-popBeauty Pop by Arai Kiyoko is a shoujo manga that has most of my favourite tropes in it. One of it is the “secret identity” trope. It has 10 volumes in total.

Beauty Pop is about a girl Koshiba Kiri, who is considered a hairstyling prodigy. She uses her hairstyling talents to help other girls, but does so anonymously. SP, otherwise known as Scissors Project, is a group made of three boys that went to the same high school as Kiri. When Kiri helped a girl, who was rejected by SP, with a makeover, she started getting known as the mysterious ‘X’. While Narumi, the head of SP group, butts head with Kiri, and Ochiai, another member of SP, plots to expose her, Kiri found herself drawn back into the competitive hairstyling world.

Shinshi Doumei Cross by Tanemura Arina is a shoujo manga that has a lot of my favourite tropes too, and has cute graphics. Also, the characters are awesome. There are some LGBTQ+ characters too. Also, the outfits Tanemura Arina drew are just so cute! This manga involves rich, rich kids, most of them, and private schools, and politics (kind of, in a way). I won’t bother trying to summarize this, because I’ll end up writing an essay instead. But, this is like my favourite. I even own physical copy of all the volumes.

Prince of Tennis by Takeshi Konomi. It is a sports manga, and not the type of manga I usually read. I even dismissed it completely when I first saw it at the bookstore. But a few years later, when I was 14, I accidentally watched an episode of the anime adaption, and immediately started reading. And boy, I was so wrong for dismissing this awesome manga.

Gokusen by Morimoto Kozueko. Again, it’s not the type of manga that I usually read. I’m not that fond of the graphic style, and I’m also not that fond of when the male is a few years younger than the female in a pairing. But it has some of my favorite tropes, mainly the “secret identity” thing, and also it involves yakuza, and action. What’s not to love. 😀

So, what are your favorite graphic novels? Do we share some fav ones? Or do you have anything you wanna recommend? Just comment down below 😀

Leave a Reply

