Top 5 Wednesday | Favourite Diverse Characters

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (gingereadslainey on YT) on goodsreads. This week’s T5W topic is Favourite Diverse Characters.


Magnus Bane from Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunters series (he appeared in The Infernal Devices, and The Mortal Instruments). Magnus is my no. 1 favourite in these series :D. He is a half-Asian warlock, and he is bisexual. The thing that endeared Magnus the most to me was that even though he said he wouldn’t help the shadowhunters anymore, he still end up helping. But that’s only one of the reason that makes me love Magnus. If I were to list everything out, I’d be writing an esay.

Helen Blackthorn from the Mortal Instruments series. She is half-nephilim and half-faerie, and a lesbian. She’s in a relationshop with Aline Penhallow, another nephilim. I love her personality, and she’s also pretty. She’s the reason why I don’t end up disliking Aline throughout the rest of the Mortal Instruments books.

Maia Roberts from The Mortal Instruments series.  She was born into a biracial family, and she’s a werewolf. I don’t really like her at the beginning, but throught the books, she grew on me. I think that she’s so badass and clever, because she became the new leader for her pack of werewolves even though she’s still a teen.

Matt from By Any Other Name. He is a minor side character, who has very little scenes in the book. He is nineteen, Joe’s older brother. He lost both his legs not long after he joined the army, but despite his disability, he is still very lively and not bitter. He is awesome, and I can’t say why because that’ll be a spoiler.

Maora (Ichinomiya Yoshitaka) from Shinshi Doumei Cross. He is a bisexual crossdresser. At least, I think he is bisexual (instead of gay) because he did try to win the female protagonist’s love in one of the books. I love him because he’s clever, and really looks like a girl when he cross-dresses. And his pet mini-sheep is just adorable. He’s very strong too 😛


So… those are all my top 5 favourite diverse characters. I realized I haven’t read that many books that has diverse characters (or I didn’t notice them) because most of my favs came from the same book series.

Anyways, I’d like to know some of your favourite diverse characters too. Comment down below to list them out, or just to say hi~ 🙂

Leave a Reply

