“On My Shelf” Tag

Heya guys~ I think I am getting addicted to these games/ tags. The “On My Shelf” Tag was created by Iain Broome. The idea behind this game is that I choose a coordinate (for eg. 3, 20), I’ll go to shelf 3, and look for book number 20. Then I’ll talk about it (where I bought it, what it means to me, and whether the book is good or not etc.).

I’ll be using five coordinates, and I’ll use the random numbers generator to choose the numbers for my coordinates 🙂

First coordinate: (7, 21)

13056511

Heaven (Halo series, book #3) by  Alexandra Adornetto. I bought this book at a local bookstore called Popular Bookstore 2 1/2 years ago, but I haven’t read it yet. I love Angel books, and so I bought the first book, but at that time I didn’t know it was a series. When I found out, I decided not to read it first, and wait until I buy the second and third book, because why torture myself when all books are already released? Seriously, I’ll go crazy waiting. I’m really impatient when it comes to books, and my head just won’t stop thinking about it. So yeah, after I bought this book, I had just finished another series, also about angels, and I just can’t get myself to pick this book up. And years goes by, I still haven’t started on it. But I’ll get on it. Soon. Maybe. Oh! Another reason why I bought this book is because the cover is just so pretty. I’m not sure how good this book is, or the series, and I didn’t one to check on other people’s reviews because I might get spoilers, and I really want to read this book (just not now, because I really can’t read about fallen angels right now.)

Second Coordinate: (4, 6)

deathly_hallows_adult_cover

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling. I bought it at Times Bookstore. I pre-ordered it a few months before it’s published date. I was in high school when I bought this, and this book means a lot to me because I used my own money. It was the hard cover, adult version and it costs RM 100, which was equivalent to my allowance for two months. Another reason this book means a lot to me is because the Harry Potter series is my childhood, and this final book is closure, in a way. When I first read the Harry Potter series, I was in primary school. At that time, I only read simple books, and avoided thick books. But Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix changed that, and ever since then, I wasn’t afraid to read thick books anymore. In a way, the Harry Potter series is the catalyst of me becoming an avid reader. I really enjoyed the final book. When I started reading it 9 years ago, I couldn’t put it down, and ended up pulling an all-nighter to finish the book.

Third coordinate: (5, 15)

5212771

Carpe Corpus (Book #6, The Morganville Vampires) by Rachel Caine. I bought this during my senior year in high school at MPH Bookstore. Throughout my high school years, I was totally in the vampire phase. I love all vampire-related books, well except for Twilight. I just can’t get myself to accept the concept of the sparkly vampire thing because I’m a hardcore Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan. Anyways, I started reading this series in 2008, and I spent most of my allowance on this series. I really enjoyed this book. Sure, some parts can be dry, but I love it. I was sad when they announced that started with book 9, every books will be published in hardback. And hardback is so expensive 😥 Every time I went to the bookstore and see book #9, I really wanted to buy it because I love this series and I want to read it till the end, but it’s just…expensive.

Fourth coordinate: (2, 12)

15844362

The One (The Selection Trilogy, book #3) by Kiera Cass. I bought this book last year, at MPH Bookstore. I bought the boxset, which includes the trilogy + The Heir AND a poster. Plus there was a discount, and also, usually buying a boxset is cheaper than buying it individually. I think. I only started reading this book in January this year, and I enjoyed it. Not so much like I’ll flail and fangirl about it every time. I was really frustrated when I read this series, but still, I do like some of the characters, and the setting. And the best thing about The One is that it’s the end of my frustration. I can’t say why it frustrates me so much because of spoiler. Just FYI, one of the reasons I bought this series is because of the cover. Yes, I love pretty dresses, and the covers are just so pretty.

Fifth coordinate: (6, 10)

919039

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments series, book #6) by Cassandra Clare. I bought this book the year it was published, at MPH Online. This book means a lot to me, you don’t know how much. I started reading this series late (yes, shame on me). I read this series a few months before the movie came out, although at that time, I didn’t know they were going to make a movie for City of Bones. So, after I finished reading CoLS, I was so so sad that I have to wait for 2014 for the book to come out. Like I’ve said before, I’m impatient when it comes to waiting for the next installment to come out, so I literally went crazy. I had to rant to a lot of people about it to keep me sane, and I keep checking Cassie’s page for snippets, and Cassandra Jean’s page for arts. One thing that sucks about not living in the same country where the book is published is that we get the books later. Although I was lucky that I received my copy before I went on my trip to Maldives. Just imagine having to wait another week to read CoHF just because it arrives one day late. Anyways, I love City of Heavenly Fire very very much. It is my favourite book among all six books, and I would recommend this series to everyone. Because seriously, everyone have to spread the love.


 

So…that was some of the books on my shelf. I hope you enjoy reading this. I’m not going to tag anyone, but please feel free to do it if you want. You can give me the link to your post down below, so that I can check out your post. Or not. Anyways, bye~ 🙂

Leave a Reply

