The Coffee Book Tag

I was tagged to do this by masonlou@Louiselovesbooks. Thank you for tagging me~ I’ve wanted to do this after watching a few booktubers doing this, but didn’t have the motivation. Until I was tagged. haha

Anyways, coffee ❤ I love coffee so much, but it always gives me headaches nowadays after I drank too much during senior year in high school to help me stay up at night so that I could study. Now I can only drink them at least once a month uwu

Black: A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans

3090465

The Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer

Twilight has a lot of hardcore fans, even my friend is one. I read the first book while I was in high school, because hey, I love vampires, and I was in my vampire phase. But the vampires…they are sparkly! I love Buffy the Vampire Slayer, so I love the vampires that turned to dust when they are exposed to sunlight, or when they are staked. I tried to give this is a chance, but I just can’t. It was so hard to finish the first book, I didn’t bother trying to read the second.

Peppermint mocha: A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year

b44ee8e91ba2ea5c6505feebfb754547

The Brides Quartet series by Nora Roberts

Vision in While (The first book) and Happy Ever After (the fourth book) timeline is in winter. I’m not sure about others, but this books are always the books that my aunts and I read during winter+Xmas simply because it’s easy-going, not too complicated, romance-y novels. Besides that, I don’t really have books that is specifically for Xmas so…

Hot chocolate: A favourite children’s book

Mary Kate and Ashley: Two of a Kind series (or any Mary Kate and Ashley books actually)

This is a children’s book, right? haha Well, I’ll consider it children’s book since I read it when I was 9. Anyways, other than Nancy Drew, and the Hardy Boys series, this is one of my favourite when I was a kid 🙂

Double shot of espresso: A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish

deathly_hallows_adult_cover

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

I started reading this immediately after I picked it up at the bookstore, and I couldn’t put it down until I finished it.I remember I started reading at night, so I was so sleepy halfway through because it was already after midnight, but I just couldn’t stop reading and sleep, so I end up finishing it at 6 in the morning.

Starbucks: A book you see everywhere

the-hunger-games-trilogy-classic-collection-suzanne-collins-3-books-set-pack-[2]-24749-p

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Like seriously. Evey time I walk into MPH bookstore and two other local bookstores, and tadaaa! Well, I always see The Infernal Devices books, and City of Heavenly Fire too, and I am not ashamed to admit that I would open the book and smell them and just caress City of Heavenly Fire even though I have my own copies at home. haha Yes, I am this weird. My sister is sometimes ashamed to go to the bookstore with me.

That hipster coffee shop: A book by an indie author (a shoutout)

51z+dDB4n5L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

Angelfall by Susan Ee

I found this book when I was looking at books during my university’s “Adopt a Book” program. At first I didn’t think much about it because I’ve never heard about the author before, and I just “adopted” it because the cover looks pretty and the summary is great. I didn’t expect to get hooked, and later, I found out that Susan Ee is an indie author. And…I don’t want to ramble, but I think she’s cool~ 😀

Oops! I accidentally got decaf: A book you were expecting more from

accident

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

I heard about this book when I watched one of Christine’s (polandbananaBOOKS) videos. And I read the summary, and it made me so curious. And when I read it, the mystery just builds and builds and but nearing the end, it’s just disappointing. I felt like I got all hyped up for nothing.
PS- On a side note, I really hate decaf. haha My sister drinks decaf, and I tried a sip, and it’s just horrible.

The perfect blend: A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying

tumblr_noabzefT1J1r3oy4vo7_1280

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

If I try to explain, it might turn into an essay. So I guess…to keep it short, this series is the perfect blend for me because it made me feel a LOT of emotions; it made me cry, laugh, sad, angry, frustrated…everything!

Green tea: A book or series that is quietly beautiful

220px-Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

This book, it’s a coming of age book, a book about the protagonist discovering himself. It has no plot, and it’s slow-paced, it’s basically a character study book. Some people may find it boring, but I think it’s beautiful. The author wrote it very beautifully, and the friendship, and the characters hardships while they discover themselves…it’s just beautiful.

Chai tea: A book or series that makes you dream of far off places

Bittersweet by Sarah Monk, A Perfect Propsal by Katie Fforde, and Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Reading Bittersweet and A Perfect Proposal made my desire to visit Cornwall, or any other countrysides in England even more. Because, seriously, it looks so beautiful, and I love the atmosphere of small towns in England. Well, at least I love them when I watch movies, TV shows or read books.
And reading Anna and the French Kiss made me change my mind and want to visit Paris again. I went to Paris four years ago, and my experience there wasn’t that great. I didn’t speak French, and my sister only knows the basic. So, I really felt awful when I was in Paris last time. But this book made the places they went to so fun, I felt like going there again.

Earl grey: A favourite classic

Little Women, Jo’s Boys, and Little Men by Louisa M. Alcott

I really enjoyed Little Women, and when I found out there are sequels to the books, I hunt them down, and read them, and I love them just as much as the first book. Well, I love Louisa M. Alcott’s other books too (Eight Cousins, and Rose in Bloom), but these are my favs. I also love Jane Austen’s books, especially Pride and Prejudice, but Little Women is my no. 1 fav.


I hope you had fun reading~ Thank you for spending your time reading ’em. I’m not going to tag anyone, but if anyone wants to do this, then feel free to do so. 🙂

One thought on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Coffee Book Tag – Trust in the Words

Leave a Reply

