Book Review: Kasey Screws Up the World by Rachel Shane (non-spoiler)

51QBWNLVLjL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

Title: Kasey Screws Up the World
Author: Rachel Shane
Publisher: Twinstar Press
Published date:  8th September 2015
Available edition(s): Paperback
ISBN: 9780692509784
Source: Netgalley
Date read: 18th April 2015
Rating: 4/5 stars

I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Summary:

Sibling rivalry goes too far…

Sixteen-year-old Kasey Fishbein has a lot to repent for. She single-handedly abandoned the dance team right before Nationals, ruined her best friend’s love life, alienated the guy she loves, and permanently injured her older sister’s hip, effectively destroying Lara’s prominent dance career in one fell swoop. Guilt keeps eating away at Kasey but no one will listen to her apologies. So she does the next best thing: she starts a blog to confess her sins.

But the only way to truly earn forgiveness from those she wronged isn’t to offer them an explanation. It’s to fix everything she broke. She may not be able to help her sister dance again, but there has to be another way to get her back on her feet. Literally. Right?  


To be honest, what made me stop and look at this book was the book cover. I’ve always love covers with pretty dresses on it. Then, I was intrigued by the summary. I always love reading books that focus on sibling relationships. I also love it when the main character has a big secret she’s hiding.

After reading the summary, I thought I have some of it figured out, personality-wise that is. I thought that Kasey is the spoiled, bratty younger sister type. I judged based on stereotype. But oh boy, how wrong I was.

It turned out that it was the opposite of what I originally thought of. KASEY was the quiet one, while her sister, Lara, was the popular, social one. I also got a sense of déjà vu while reading this. It reminded me of Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later, in a way that the younger sister screws up, the older ones feel betrayed although whatever happened wasn’t done intentionally, and so on.

This book made me so curious that I couldn’t put it down. In present time, everyone was “hating” on Kasey because of the thing that happened during the summer. Because her sister, and her best friend wouldn’t accept apologies, she decided to confess everything in her blog. And that is where we, the readers, find our answers. The blog was about the things that happened during the summer that led to the thing that happened to Lara, the thing that all readers want to find out when they start this book.

I like the characters in this book. I felt like I could relate to Kasey a little, the way she feels when she’s at school and around her parents. But there are times when I was annoyed by Kasey, mostly by pre-incident Kasey. I feel like she’s just whining sometimes. I had a hard time trying to sympathize with Lara. Sometimes, I felt frustrated with her too, because she was oblivious to Kasey’s feelings. But I have to admire her determination to get what she wants. I wish I had that too. I like the boy that Kasey loves as well, but I wouldn’t reveal his name because it wasn’t mentioned in the summary, and so would be kind of spoiler-y. But I will give you this. I like what he did in the end. There’s also another character that I like. He is a friend of Kasey’s, and the only one who supported her and continued being her friend even after everything that happened during the summer. The characters I don’t like are her parents, but mostly her mother. You’ll understand if you read the book.

To sum it up, I like this book. It is a fun book to read before things get serious (all of it was good, but there are more things to laugh about pre-incident). It kept me curious, and my mind was going crazy every time I had to put the book down for a few minutes when I had to do my chores because all I could think of was this book, trying to figure out what really happened, and how did it happened? I like how this book will remind us that blood is thicker than water, that whatever happens, they are still a family. I would recommend this to everyone who feels like they are in someone’s shadow, and everyone else who wants to read it.

I rate this book four out of five stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Kasey Screws Up the World by Rachel Shane (non-spoiler)

  1. Pingback: Master Review List – Erucchii's Books and Recs

  2. Pingback: Chapter Break Bookish Bingo April 2016 | Erucchii's Books and Recs

Leave a Reply

