Book Review: The Hidden Oracle (Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan

HIDDEN+ORACLE+Final+cover+

Title: The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Published date: 3rd May 2016
Available editions: Hardcover, Paperback
ISBN: 9781484732748
Source: Own copy
Date read: 5th May 2016
Rating: 5/5 stars

Summary:

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.


Finally finished
Never thought I’d see K-POP
In T.O.A book

Yes, that’s my embarrassing attempt in writing a haiku. Unlike the previous two series (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and The Heroes of Olympus), The Hidden Oracle’s chapter titles are haikus, and everything is in Apollo’s point of view. Anyways, because of the chapter titles, I’ve been making up bad haikus all day long.

The Trials of Apollo is the third series in this Percy Jackson/Greek/Roman chronicle (Honestly, I’m not sure what to call it), but it was still as funny as ever. It definitely surpassed my expectations. After reading Blood of Olympus, I am glad that I get to read a bit more of Nico in The Hidden Oracle. I bet everyone else want to read about Nico too after the ending of BOO. Haha.

In this first book, Uncle Rick introduced a new demigod, Meg. We get to read about the friendship blossoming between the now-mortal Apollo and Meg. We get to see Apollo in another light as he faced hardships, and shown kindness by his children and other demigods. The witty banter and Apollo’s narrations, with his inappropriate priorities sometimes, lightens up the mood and make readers laugh so hard.

In my opinion, as the first book in the series, this is perfectly written. I recommend this book to everyone who likes reading about Greek myths, fantasy, and YA. You will never regret picking this book up. I know I didn’t.

To read the review with spoilers, click “Continue Reading”.


Now, this is the review with spoilers, so anyone who has not read the book or has not finish reading, please stop here.

Understand? Okay, good.

So, my thoughts on The Hidden Oracle. I’ve read the excerpt, I even read the sneak peak, so I know Percy will be in the book too. When I got to that part, when Apollo and Meg arrived at Percy’s apartment, I can’t help but squeal. Yes, I love Percy. But who doesn’t love that Seaweed Brain? Also, seriously, Percy has the coolest mom ever.

On their way to Camp Half Blood, they were attacked by these spirits—I think it was the plague spirits or something—because they wanted revenge on Apollo, now that he’s mortal. Meg managed to summon a karpos, which is a grain spirit called Peaches. Seriously, Peaches is cute in its own way. Anyways, because Meg summoned a karpos, I had a feeling that maybe Meg is a daughter of the goddess, Demeter. (I was right!)

After arriving at Camp, and Nico and Will finally appeared, I feel like I was about to explode. The thing I’ve been waiting for for so long! Will introduced Nico as his boyfriend. Seriously, I was squealing so hard, thank goodness my parents are at work and my siblings are in school. And boy, Nico has changed. A lot. I love how he used the excuse ‘Doctor’s orders’ to get his way sometimes. I laughed so hard. Will and his siblings, despite feeling awkward at first, treated their father with kindness, which made Apollo feel like crying, and in turn made me feel like crying.

As the story progressed, Apollo becomes less self-centered, and more confident in his mortal body. I guess, it was also because two of the missing campers were his own kids, but still… Apollo was also less reckless, in a way. Again, I have to say, I love the witty banters in this book. Everything is so funny. I never thought Rhea would talk that way, using words like ‘you dig’. Apollo was really cool too, when he went off to rescue Meg. By this time, he has started feeling some bond with Meg. I really can’t believe he made friends with the myrmeke, the antlike creatures in the woods.

After Apollo rescued her, Meg told him she has something to tell him. That was when my suspected, maybe Meg was the insider that person with Python was talking about. I mean, she was acting a bit suspiciously about that man, The Beast. It was really sad when Apollo discovered that Meg betrayed him. Poor Meg, she was manipulated by Nero. But whatever, at least Apollo didn’t give up on her.

During the fight with the colossus, I was so happy Percy arrived. And with Mrs. O’Leary. It was funny how Apollo narrated that part. Seriously, you could see how much Apollo changed in the end. The next day, after the fight, Apollo wanted to leave alone, but I’m glad he didn’t. I’m glad he hesitated, and Rachel and Percy managed to find him. Percy managed to decipher the prophecy, which made me squeal, again, because it meant Leo will be the one accompanying Apollo. Leo returned to camp with Calypso soon after they realized what the prophecy meant. It was as I pictured and read in a lot of fanfictions, and more. Haha. I never imagined Chiron would also kick Leo for pulling the stunt that he did at the end of Blood of Olympus. Leo said that he was going to meet up with Jason and the others too. I’m trying not to get my hopes up, but I am hoping that it will mean Jason and the others will go with Apollo and Leo to find the oracles.

To sum it up, I am very satisfied with this book that I am now less annoyed with how Blood of Olympus ended. The characters are well written. You could see how much Apollo’s character developed by comparing the Apollo from the beginning of the book, and the one from the end. Of course, he is still a bit narcissistic but that’s his personality, and the Apollo we all love. Seriously, I love Apollo— he is my top 3 fav Gods. If you’re looking for a good read, with lots of witty banters, funny dialogues and narration, and funny situations with some heartwarming moments and fighting scenes, well, this is the right book for you! I give it 5 out of 5 stars and recommend it to everyone.

Note: This is probably the sloppiest review I’ve ever written, but I am too excited still, and I couldn’t construct my words properly. I’m sorry ;w;

Leave a Reply

