Book Review: Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick

26245098

Title: Every Exquisite Thing
Author: Matthew Quick
Published date: 31st May 2016
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Genre: Teens & YA
ISBN: 9780316379595Available Edition(s): Hardcover
Source: Netgalley
Date read: 19th April 2016
Rating: 5/5 stars

I received this e-galley from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review. Thank you to Little Brown Books for Young Readers for approving my request.

Summary:

Nanette O’Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the role of dutiful daughter, hardworking student, and star athlete for as long as she can remember. But when a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bugglegum Reaper–a mysterious, out-of-print cult classic–the rebel within Nanette awakens.

As she befriends the reclusive author, falls in love with a young but troubled poet, and attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, Nanette learns the hard way that rebellion sometimes comes at a high price.

A celebration of the self and the formidable power of story, Every Exquisite Thing is Matthew Quick at his finest.


This was one of the hardest review I ever had a chance of writing. After I finished reading the book the first time, I tried but no words could describe what I thought or how I feel about the book. Even after reading it for the second time, I still couldn’t describe it. Just a few days ago, I finished reading it for the third time, and because today is the published date for this book, I decided to push myself and write this.

The moment I started reading Every Exquisite Thing, I was immediately hooked, and couldn’t put it down. All the characters just touched my heart; Nanette, Mr. Graves, Booker, even Alex and Oliver, even though I don’t really like Alex much. I still don’t, in the end. And just like Matthew Quick’s other books, this one also brought tears to my eyes.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading this. I didn’t know I will love it so much. I think everyone of us could relate to Nanette. I mean, all of us are sons or daughters to someone, and it is second nature to please your parents, just like Nanette did when she continued playing soccer despite not liking it much. I could also relate to Nanette for other things too, about her worries and everything. The difference is, I’m not as brave as her.

What I envy the most from Every Exquisite Thing is that Nanette has someone like Mr. Graves and Booker to guide her, in a way. The mentor-ish relationship just struck a chord in my heart, especially in the end. After Booker introduced her to Alex, Nanette experienced a lot of things, things she normally wouldn’t do. I guess, in his own way, I have to grudgingly admit that even Alex plays a part in making Nanette realize who she was, and made her stronger. Although, at the end of the day, it was still all her effort that she managed to find herself.

To sum it up, Every Exquisite Thing is a beautiful book about person’s journey of self-discovery and growing up. Nanette faced a lot of obstacles along the way, she faced her ups and downs, and lost some people but that is life. It was heartwarming, and heartbreaking to read— it has made me cry a lot of times. To me, this book is like an eye-opener, and made me realize some things about myself too. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone because it is simply a beautiful story and it deserves every attention it gets.

I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick

  1. Pingback: Book Review Masterlist | Erucchii's Books and Recs

Leave a Reply

