Blog Tour: The Shattered Seam by Kathleen Groger Book Review + Giveaway

Title: The Shattered Seam (Seam Stalkers, #1)
Author:
Kathleen Groger
Publisher:
Leaf & Thorn Press, LLC
Publication date:
September 13th 2016
Genre:
Horror, Paranormal, Young Adult
Edition:
eBook
Source:
Xpresso Book Tour
Rating:
4/5

Spending spring break on an isolated island rumored to be haunted is not sixteen-year-old Sam’s idea of fun. Spending spring break with her uncle and his ghost-hunting film crew on an isolated island is even worse.

Way worse.

Her family’s secrets—and a genetic ability she can no longer deny—surface, along with the ghost of a rich serial killer who left behind a trail of trapped souls.

And he’s not through yet.

With only one chance for escape, Sam must embrace her family’s curse and close the Seam between the living and the dead. Or be lost, forever.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iTunes

The Review

I never thought I would love this book so much, but I did. It feels like I was watching (reading) Criminal Minds, if CM has paranormal activities, and less police work/investigation. So, we all know not to go looking for ghosts, that’s like looking for trouble but I guess no one sent these characters a memo.

Because of her parents anniversary trip to Jamaica, and her grandmother had already passed away, Sam had to spend spring break with her uncle and his TV crew, and two other guests on an isolated island to shoot an episode for her uncle’s show, “Horrors and Hauntings” at a supposedly haunted castle. What’s worse is that Sam could “see” things, and she thinks she’s crazy because of it.

While some parts of the story is slightly predictable, most of it kept me guessing (and I love this book because of it). I didn’t remember why I read this book with the mentality that everything/ everyone was going to be fine till the end, and I ended up so surprised and upset in the end. And I was thoroughly creeped out by this book. Since the beginning, I had this scared feeling while reading, the same feeling you’ll feel when you’re about to go into a haunted house, and then the feeling you get when you’re inside said haunted house. I read this in the middle of the night, which probably contributed to the reason why I was so creeped out.

I fell in love with Sam’s character throughout the book. One of the reasons is because she could draw. I love drawing, but my talent (or lack thereof) is nowhere near Sam’s. She’s a brave and strong character, another reason why I love her. If I was in her shoes, I will probably breakdown early on.

I had also came to love Eric, Daniel, and Randall. The way they are protective over Sam sometimes, and just how they act when it comes to Sam, I guess. It just makes my heart fluffy. I even came to like Brett, and Marisol. Although, I have to admit that at first I thought Marisol was a fraud. As for Kyle, well… I know I like him, but I can’t say how much yet because he wasn’t in it much. But I hope the second book has more of him.

To sum it up, this book has managed to pull me in, made me so interested that I read it all in one sitting. It hooked me, and became like a guessing game to me, making me so curious that I couldn’t wait to get to the end to see if I was right. I love how Kathleen described some scenes—the description of some gruesome scenes was graphic, which efficiently freaked me out (so kudos to Kathleen). Or maybe, that’s just me because it’s easy to creep me out. This book made me laugh, made me scared, and made me sad. I think fans of The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater might enjoy this book too.

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Author Bio…

Kathleen wrote her first story in elementary school about a pegasus named Sir Lancelot. It had no plot or conflict, but it sparked a dream. After serving a fifteen-year sentence in retail management, the bulk in big box bookstores, she turned her love of reading into a full-time career writing dark and haunting characters and stories. She writes paranormal, fantasy, suspense, horror YA books. She is a contributing member of READerlicious, writers who love readers. Check out her blogs here.

She lives by the mantra that a day is not complete without tea. Lots of tea. Kathleen lives in Ohio with her husband, two boys, and two attention-demanding dogs. When not writing or editing or revising, you can find her reading, cooking, spending time with her family, or photographing abandoned buildings.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Shattered Seam by Kathleen Groger Book Review + Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Book Review Masterlist | Erucchii's Books and Recs

Leave a Reply

