Top 5 Wednesday | Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre (Sept. 28 ’16)

Yes, yes, I’m late and I posted two (including this post) T5W posts today.

Top 5 Wednesday is a discussion group in Goodreads, created by Lainey, and now moderated by Sam. This one was this Wednesday’s (two days ago) topic, which is Gateway Books to Your Favorite Genre. Since I have quite a number of favorite genre, I’ll just list out one or two for each genre.

So, let us begin…

  1. Urban Fantasy (YA)
    12513806_10153865068078917_8280273045588331804_o

The Infernal Devices or The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare

Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunter Chronicles has it all; Nephilims, warlocks, vampires, werewolves, faeries, which is why I think these books will be great to introduce people to urban fantasy.

2. Contemporary & Mental Illness & LGBTQ+ (YA)

fansoftheimpossiblelife

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

This book is a great choice if you want to YA, mental illness and LGBTQ+ in one book. Sure, this books is more about the friendship and depression especially when things start to fall apart than the romantic relationship, but it is still a great book to read.

3. Dystopia (YA)

the-hunger-games-trilogy-classic-collection-suzanne-collins-3-books-set-pack-[2]-24749-p

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

These books were the ones that made me interested in Dystopia YA books, so I thought this might be perfect for others too. 😀

4. Historical Romance

714569

A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson

This wasn’t the first Historical Romance book that I’ve read, but this one was a fun and easy read. Seriously, I read this book every time I wanted a quick read, or whenever I was in a slump. I think, I’ve read this a total of 30+ times since 2009.

5. Literature

341305

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women was the first literature book that I’ve read, or more precisely, the first literature book I’ve read that made me interested in reading Literature books. It was fun, the characters were amazing, there are lots of moral values in the book, and it’s an easy read. That’s why, I guess this would be the perfect book to introduce people to Literature.


So, what do you think of my list? Anyone has anything in common with what I listed out? Please don’t hesitate to leave a comment and share your opinion 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

