Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue #1

Hey everyone~

So, I was watching this program on the telly, about brides looking for wedding dresses or something, which made me think of this old saying. To brides, this “something old, something new, something borrowed, something blue” is a time-honored tradition that will bring them good luck…or something like that.

You guys are probably wondering where I’m going with this.

Anyways, when I heard this saying, I had an epiphany, and thought, ‘Maybe I could use this for book recommendations.’

So… This is how it works.

The title itself is self-explanatory. You’ll have to recommend four books based on:

  1. Something old: A book on your bookshelf that you’ve owned for years. OR you can recommend a Classics that you like
  2. Something new: Now, for this, you can cheat a bit. You can recommend a book you just bought, a newly published book, or a book that you have not bought yet but will buy soon
  3. Something borrowed: Again, this is self-explanatory. Recommend books that you’ve borrowed, either from a friend, or the library, or wherever
  4. Something blue: For this, you can be literal, and recommend any books with blue covers that you like. Doesn’t have to be on your shelf, as long as you like it, just rec it. Or, you can recommend books that makes you feel “blue” 🙂

And that’s it. Simple enough, right? I will probably be doing this weekly or one every two weeks. I’ll just start now 😀


Something Old:

714569

A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson
(Buy on Book Depository)

I’ve had this book since 2008, and I’ve read it countless times. It’s a light read, it’s fun and just wow. It’s about a countess from Russia, who became refugee in England. They were penniless when they arrived there so she decided to look for a job and worked as a maid. Icing on top, no one knows she’s a countess. This book has cured me from my reading slump a lot of times, and quite frankly, it deserve a lot more recognition.

Something New:

51rof09we3l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Am I Normal Yet by Holly Bourne
(Buy on Book Depository)

I have always loved YA contemporary books with mental illness in it. And I love it more if the depiction of mental illness is realistic. And Holly Bourne managed that. At least, I think so. It doesn’t have a love-fix-all solution to the main character’s mental illness, which I love. And this book seriously made my hidden feminist side kicks in. And Evie, Lottie, and Amber’s friendship is great. Really, you won’t regret reading this book.

Something Borrowed:

71N-hAxibZL

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Buy on Book Depository

I borrowed this from my friend, Marsyee, earlier this year. At first I was reluctant to read it because of the title. I was afraid that it’ll be the mushy YA contemporary romance type of book. But I was wrong. And on the plus side, the premises is at a boarding school in Paris. I absolutely love stories that happens at school, especially overseas boarding school so this was just my type of book. And Etiénne St. Clair is definitely ♥♥♥

Something Blue:

8071241-_uy200_

The Other Mr. Darcy by Monica Fairwiew
(Buy on Book Depository)

At least 50% of the cover was blue, so I’ll count it as blue. I was re-reading this and fell in love with it again. This book is about Caroline, and Mr. Darcy’s cousin from America. I was wary the first time I wanted to read this because Caroline? I didn’t really like her in Pride and Prejudice, so why would I read this. But wow, this book made me like Caroline. And people should try and give this a read. Don’t pass it up because the heroine this time is Caroline. And don’t lie, I know some would do it because I almost did it too. Haha


So, what do you think? Please tell me your opinions or thoughts in the comment section. I’ll return with more recommendations next week, or the week after. 😀

One thought on “Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue #1

  1. I love the idea! From your list, I have only read Anna and The French Kiss which I really enjoyed. I have Pride and Prejudice on my September TBR though. Great post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

