Book Review: Because I Love You by Tori Rigby

cover93264-medium

Title: Because I Love You
Author: Tori Rigby
Publisher: Blaze Publishing
Published date: 17th May 2016
Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary
Available edition(s): Paperback
ISBN: 9780997010428
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 3.5/5

I received an e-galley of Because I Love You by Tori Rigby from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.

Summary:

Eight weeks after sixteen-year-old Andie Hamilton gives her virginity to her best friend, “the stick” says she’s pregnant.

Her friends treat her like she’s carrying the plague, her classmates torture and ridicule her, and the boy she thought loved her doesn’t even care. Afraid to experience the next seven months alone, she turns to her ex-boyfriend, Neil Donaghue, a dark-haired, blue-eyed player. With him, she finds comfort and the support she desperately needs to make the hardest decision of her life: whether or not to keep the baby.

Then a tragic accident leads Andie to discover Neil’s keeping a secret that could dramatically alter their lives, and she’s forced to make a choice. But after hearing her son’s heartbeat for the first time, she doesn’t know how she’ll ever be able to let go.

Book Depository / Goodreads / Amazon


First love is such a wonderful thing. It rarely happens in real life, but that’s why we have books.

The plot is kind of a cliche, but that was also why I requested this book in the first place. I am, sometimes, a sucker for cliche plot. As I’ve mentioned, plot-wise, it’s a cliche—most of it was predictable, although there were some parts that I didn’t see coming. It really surprised me. Seriously. This book was squeal-worthy because of Neil. Boy, what I wouldn’t give to get a boyfriend like that. I was also so sweet. And what surprised me was that it managed to make me cry. Just once, but it was enough.

The thing I love the most in this book was the characters.

Andie: Okay, so I didn’t like Andie much. I didn’t feel like I could connect to her much, and sometimes, it was like she was kind of bratty.

Neil: I love him so much! He’s my second favourite character, but he is so perfect. Literally. He’s smart, he has a photographic memory, he’s a musician, he’s romantic, and he’s an amateur hacker. So yeah, I love him.

Jill: Now, JILL is my favourite character. I like how she’s not like everyone else in that school when the rumors about Andie started. I also like her friendship with Andie. And she’s smart too. And a great hacker. She’s funny, and really, she’s just great. I wish I have a friend like her.

Some other supporting characters I like is Neil’s friend. That stoner who always helped Neil out. I forgot what he’s name was, but he made some scenes funny, and I like him for that. And his friendship with Neil, that’s just…goals. Yes, I am a sucker of great friendships.

To sum it up, the book is great, but it was predictable. That was the reason I gave it the rating that I did. I think this book is perfect for someone who is looking for an easy read, something sweet and romantic. And teens probably would think twice about drinking alcoholic drinks at parties and have sex. Just kidding.

I give this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.


For book review inquiries,

Email me: ladestiny92@gmail.com
I’m a book depository affiliate: http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=erucchi

You can find me at:

Twitter: MALECistruelove
Tumblr: erucchii92
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ladestiny92

One thought on “Book Review: Because I Love You by Tori Rigby

  1. Pingback: Book Review Masterlist | Erucchii's Books and Recs

Leave a Reply

