Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish (Oct 5th ’16)

Hey everyone~ I am happy that for the first time in a long while, my T5W post is right on time.

So, the usual spiel. Top 5 Wednesday is a discussion group in Goodreads, which was created by Lainey, and currently run by Sam. This week’s topic is books that took me the longest to finish. Quoting Sam word-to-word, here’s an elaboration for the topic:

These are the books that you had on your nightstand “in progress” for months or years. The books that you took weeks to read because they put you in a slump. Those books that were an uphill battle. These are books you started and actually read, not books you’ve just had on your shelf the longest.

Now, let us get on with it.


1.

57118522

The Reluctant Heiress by Eva Ibbotson

By the time I finally found and bought a copy of this book, I’ve already read three other historical romance books by Eva Ibbotson. And so, by that time, I can’t help noticing some similarity in her plots and characteristics of her characters. So, I was feeling a bit ‘meh’ when I was reading it, and for a couple of times, I almost gave up on it. But I couldn’t. Because Eva Ibbotson was “my automatic buy author”, and I couldn’t just put her book in my DNF list. Plus, I had been searching so hard for this book, I couldn’t just give up on it. I didn’t remember how long it took me to finish, but I think it was more than a month.

2.

cover1000

Of Pens and Swords by Rena Rocford

I think this one took me two months, more or less, to finish. I remembered starting it on 22nd April, and I finished it in June, late June. It’s not that this book bore me, but a day after starting this book, my friend lend me her ARC for Trials of Apollo. Of course, I ended up having a book hangover after that, and didn’t pick up this book again until a few weeks later.

3.

Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-Cover

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I actually felt bad about taking a very long time to finish this one. I don’t exactly remember how long it took for me to finish this one, but I know it was more than 2 months. The thing is, I love Percy Jackson, but somehow, I ended up putting this on the back burner because I was too engrossed in reading fanfictions. Mainly, Marvel fanfictions that centers around Tony Stark, because Tony Stark is bae, and I just love reading about him getting hurt or some misunderstandings, and the Tony Stark Defense Squad.

4.

harry-potter-and-the-order-of-the-phoenix-adult-edition

Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

This one took me a couple of weeks to finish. But I guess that was more because of this was the first thick book I’ve ever read, the first book I read that was not a Sweet Valley book or Mary Kate and Ashley book, and also because I was 10 at the time. Plus, the tone of this book was so serious, and there was a lot of feelings, I needed time to process everything.

5.

220px-Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I really took my time with this book, partly because it was the holidays, my cousins were in town, and so I didn’t have much time to read. Another reason was because I wanted to “savor” it, wanted to prolong my “feels” when I read this.


So, that was my list. It took me quite some time to think about it, because I rarely took a long time to finish a book. And some that I did take a long time to read, well, I haven’t quite finish it yet. Some were even placed in my DNF, but then, for this topic, I HAVE to  finish the book. That was the requirement. So yeah.

Anyways, what are the books that took YOU the longest to finish? Tell me in the comments. Or just link me to your post in the comments.

Until next week, goodbye~ 🙂


For book review inquiries,

Email me: ladestiny92@gmail.com
I’m a book depository affiliate:
http://www.bookdepository.com/?a_aid=erucchi

You can find me at:

Twitter: MALECistruelove
Tumblr: erucchii92
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ladestiny92

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Took You the Longest to Finish (Oct 5th ’16)

  1. I’ve had Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe sitting on my shelf for AGES (it’s been sitting there slowly fading into the back of my shelves). I’ve really been wanting to get to it, but I think some of the more negative reviews put me off it? The cover is gorgoues though, and I’ll probably get to it some time this year. Probably.
    Loved your top five! If you’re interested you can find mine by clicking on this link.

    Like

  2. When I first saw that you took forever to read The Lightening Thief, I was like WHAT? HOW? And then I saw it was because of Tony Stark. All is forgiven because Tony Stark = LOVE. And any time that I see something related to Tony Stark on the Internet I get completely sucked in and suddenly its two hours later. Oops! Haha, but I’m so glad you enjoyed The Lightening Thief regardless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

