Reader Problems Book Tag

OH MY GOD! OHMYGOD OHMYGOD OH MY GOD!!! I SCRATCHED MY MOM’S CAR! Technically, I guess it’s my dad’s since he pays for it, but it’s my mom’s because she uses it. But asdfghjklasdfghjkl; I SCRATCHED THE CAR! And not even outside the house yet! I scratched it when I reversed out the house! ;w; Now I probably wouldn’t be allowed to drive that car again, ever.

Anyways, on a happier note… I present to you A BOOK TAG~

I didn’t have anything to post at the moment. I didn’t have any book reviews done, I didn’t have any rec list, or articles or short stories. So, I thought I could do a tag. I don’t remember who made it originally, but I found one done by Erinbook @ The Book Nut.


1. You have 20,000 books in your TBR, how in the world do you decide what to read next?

It usually depends on my mood, and then, priorities. If there’s a book I borrowed on my TBR, then I’ll read those first (if that’s what I have the mood to read).

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you put it down or are you committed?

I am committed. I’ll finish it even if it will take me a long, long time. The idea of putting down a book when I’m already halfway through because I don’t like it feels like giving up. I’m a very stubborn person. Of course, there are a few that I did give up on, but I never reached halfway for those.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re behind on your reading challenge, do you try to catch up? And if so, how?

No. I will end up not wanting to read if I try to force myself. I will probably look for a book to read, regardless whether I’ve read it before, that will make me want to read another book. After that, I’ll just read more book, and the book that I know will give me a book hangover will be kept for last. Because reading a book that will give you a book hangover first, when you want to catch up on your reading challenge, will be counter productive no matter how much you love it.

4. The covers of a series you love do not match, how do you cope?

I rant about it. Everyday. To my sister and my book buddies and on my social media accounts. And I’ll cry about it. Then, I put it on my list of books-to-buy-because-the-cover-I-have-sucks, and wait until I have extra cash to buy them.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book that you do not. Who do you bond with over your shared feelings?

It’s either Marsyee or Zuzu. Those two are the only ones I know who I can talk about books with, and we usually share the same interest on types of books. And I have yet to make close enough friends in the book community with whom I could bond with.

6. You’re reading a book in public and you’re about to start crying. How do you deal?

The thing about me is, if I’m out in public without my friends or sister, I’ll have my complete poker face on. Defense mechanism. And I never bawl when I cry because of books, or make any sound, just tears streaming down. So, people usually don’t notice. Unless they bend down and try to meet my eyes and saw those watery, red eyes.

7. The sequel to a book you loved just came out but you’ve forgotten a lot of what happens. Are you going to reread it?

Of course. I would reread it even if I still remember what happened, just so I could prolong the feelings when I read that series. But if the gap between when I finished the first book and when the sequel came out is just like, less than three months, I will probably go ahead and read the second book instead of rereading the first book.

8. You do not want anyone to borrow your books, how do you politely say no when someone asks?

I’m not sure if me being blunt is polite, but that’s the only thing I say every time someone (aside from Marsyee and Zuzu, and my sister) asked to borrow my book. I’m sorry but I don’t trust you enough to let you borrow my book. Of course, I will say it’s an ‘it’s-not-you-it’s-me’ thing so that the person won’t be too hurt, if they’re feeling hurt at all. If that person is someone I don’t feel comfortable about being blunt with (like my mom or aunt), I’ll say, “My book is currently with a friend of mine.” And they’ll forget about it after awhile. A little while lie never hurt anyone, and I’m sure everyone’s told a white lie once in awhile.

9. You have picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over this reading slump?

Fanfictions. Although that is kind of dangerous, because once I started only reading fanfictions, it is kind of hard for me to stop and I’ll end up reading fanfictions 24 hours a days. Sometimes, I will reread some old favorite, something easy and short like Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys until I’m out of my reading slump.

10. There are so many books coming out that you are dying to read, how many do you end up buying?

Three books. Unless I have extra cash on me. But if not, I will never spend more that RM 120 (equivalent to three books, more or less). But if there’s an end of the year discount, I’ll make an exception and probably end up buying six-seven books.

11. After you purchase all of these books that you’re dying to read how long do they sit on your shelves before you get to them?

It depends. Most of the time, I will read the book immediately, and leave one or two days to process before starting on another book. So the books will probably only sit on my shelf for less than two weeks. But if  one of the books gave me a book hangover, it would probably take me months before I could read another book.


So, this is my reader problems book tag. I had fun answering these (and I had fun reading other people’s too). I hope you enjoyed reading mine. Is there anything we have in common? Or any thoughts about my answers? Please don’t be shy and tell me in the comments 🙂

I am not tagging anyone, so feel free too do this if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

