Recipe for a Book #2 | Beef Stew

Hey there~

I should have posted this last week, but I was distracted. I’m sorry for that. If you didn’t know yet, I really love cooking and baking (I don’t like to do the dishes though), and so, this is actually an excuse for me to share or show off the recipes that I like. 😀

Anyways, last week, I finished reading How Hard Can Love Be, a sequel to Am I Normal Yet, written by Holly Bourne. The protagonist for this book is Amber, best friend of Evie (protagonist for the first book), and Lottie. This time, the setting is in America instead of England, more specifically, at a summer camp near Lake Tahoe.

At home, because my mum is still working, and I am still unemployed, cooking became part of my chore (this sometimes makes me dislike the fact that I could cook). Anyways, in my home, there are seven of us including me: My mum and dad, my two younger sisters and two younger brothers. So, when I’m lazy, I love to make something that has everything in it so that I don’t have to cook other side dishes.

Yes, I’ve grown to love cooking one pot meal. Or to be specific, my beef stew. Well, okay, it was my mum’s recipe, but hey, I refined the recipe LOL

You are probably wondering where I’m going with this. Well, in summer camps, there will be lots of kids, right? While I do realize that food at summer camps are catered and there are more than one person in charge in the kitchen, but let’s just ignore that for a moment. When I think of summer camp with all those kids, a lot of mouth to feed, I immediately think of the beef stew.

It is a wholesome meal with meat, and vegetables. And we only need less than ten type of ingredients.


27286_10151309491833917_617098204_n

I’m sorry I didn’t have a better picture to show you. This is from four years ago, I think, and I didn’t have any carrots at the time, hence, no carrots in the picture. And I love drowning my white rice in the stew. 🙂

Prep time: 20 minutes
Cook time:
2 hours

Serves: 7 (with second helpings)

Ingredients:

  • 400 g beef, cubed
  • 1 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 big potatoes, peeled and quartered
  • 4 carrots, peeled and quartered
  • 1 big yellow onion (or 2 small ones), sliced
  • 4 cups of water
  • Oyster sauce, to taste
  • Salt (optional) and pepper, to taste
  • Cooked white rice, optional

Method:

  1. Boil the beef cubes in water for one hour. Remove the scum from the surface.
  2. While the beef cubes are boiling, cut potatoes and carrots into quarters, and slice the yellow onion thinly.
  3. After one hour, set the beef and the stock aside. In a soup pot (or whatever you usually use to make stews), melt the butter. Then, add in the flour to make a roux. After that, add in the beef cubes, and sautée in the roux for a few minutes. Avoid burning the beef. Stir in the reserved beef stock, and add in the sliced onions.
  4. Add in the water until the amount you want, or the thickness that you want. Then, put in 2 tablespoon of oyster sauce to taste. Add in more if it is not salty enough, or use salt.
  5. During the final 30 minutes, add in the carrots, and then add in the potatoes 10  minutes after the carrots. Put in a few pinches of black pepper to taste. Turn off the heat when the potatoes are soft. Serve with white rice, or you can also eat it without the rice. It is a hearty and fulfilling meal either way.

Tadaa~ That’s the recipe for my beef stew. I feel like I’m giving you family secrets here. Not that it’s really a secret. Haha.

So far, all the my friends (that I’ve ever cooked for), and my relatives love this stew. You can give it a try as well, and tell me what you think. I can guarantee you won’t regret it 🙂

Leave a Reply

