Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue #2 (Oct. 24 ’16)

something-old-something-new-something-borrowed-something-blue

I’m here again with Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue, and hopefully I can recommend something great to you guys. Also, let’s just ignore the fact that I was supposed to post this last week.

Also, ignore my ugly banner. It’s so late now, and I can’t experiment and make something better.

1. Something Old:

9780140350159-uk-300

Jo’s Boys by Louisa M. Alcott (sequel to Little Men)

Beginning ten years after Little Men, Jo’s Boys revisits Plumfield, the New England school still presided over by Jo and her husband, Professor Bhaer. Jo remains at the center of the tale, surrounded by her boys—including rebellious Dan, sailor Emil, and promising musician Nat—as they experience shipwreck and storm, disappointment and even murder.

Ever since I read Little Women, and Eight Cousins, Louisa M. Alcott has been one of my favorite authors. I’m always amazed how each stories of hers always have some lessons in it. It’s always so refreshing.
I’ve always loved Jo’s Boys (sequel to Little Men), more than Little Men (sequel to Little Women). Jo’s charges are now young adults and slowly trying to find themselves, and their own path in life. I also love the feminism in the book. This book can also take you on an emotional roller coaster ride. Or maybe that’s just me.

2. Something New

26255907

How Hard Can Love Be by Holly Bourne (Spinster Club #2)

Amber, Evie and Lottie: three girls facing down tough issues with the combined powers of friendship, feminism and cheesy snacks. Both hilarious and heart-rending, this is Amber’s story of how painful – and exhilarating – love can be, following on from Evie’s story in Am I Normal Yet?
All Amber wants is a little bit of love. Her mum has never been the caring type, even before she moved to California, got remarried and had a personality transplant. But Amber’s hoping that spending the summer with her can change all that.
And then there’s prom king Kyle, the guy all the girls want. Can he really be interested in anti-cheerleader Amber? Even with best friends Evie and Lottie’s advice, there’s no escaping the fact: love is hard.

This is one of the book in my September book haul, which was my latest purchase. This book is about Amber, and I really love it because Amber is always so funny. I think I might even love it more than the first book. I like how at the end of the book, Amber learns that it wasn’t her fault her mum left and never visited, and it wasn’t her mum’s fault that she couldn’t stand being with Amber for so long. And also, just because of the latter, doesn’t mean her mum didn’t love her. I really recommend all YA contemporary lover to read this.

3. Something Borrowed

71N-hAxibZL

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.
But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

Yes, it’s another YA Contemporary novel. I love this book because the premises is a boarding school in Paris, and everyone who knows me knows that I love boarding school (or private school/academy) setting. And also, Anna is a movie buff and wants to be a movie critique, and most of the times would go to the cinema in Paris alone.
You see, I love watching movies, and more often than not, I love watching movie alone. But here, where I live, people are so judgemental when a girl went to the watch movies at the cinema alone. I feel like forcing them to read this book. Because really, watching movies at the cinema alone is normal, even for a girl.

4. Something Blue

HIDDEN+ORACLE+Final+cover+

The Trials of Apollo (The Hidden Oracle #1) by Rick Riordan

How do you punish an immortal?
By making him human.
After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.
But Apollo has many enemies—gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go… an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

I love love love this book. And I just want everyone to read it because it is so awesome. I love the character development that Rick Riordan’s characters went through throughout the series. And I get to read about the new side of Nico in here, which is really great. So, everyone who hasn’t started reading this really should start as soon as possible.


So, these are my book recommendations for this week. I’ll come again with other books to recommend in another two weeks. So, tell me what you think of the books above. Have you read it? Did you like it?

Until then, ta ta for now.

Leave a Reply

