30 Days Blog Challenge: On the Shelf (Day 3)

day-3-on-the-shelf

Hey guys~ It’s Day 3, I’m still doing this, and I’m still late but I’m in denial. Besides, I haven’t gone to bed yet, so it’s not yet a new day even thought it is actually 1 a.m. where I am right now. Haha

So, today’s post is On the Shelf. It is kind of self explanatory. What I have to do is list down 3 books from my shelf, and just… write how I feel about them etc.

Now, let’s get on to it…

The first book I’m going to choose is…

city-of-heavenly-fire-2

The Mortal Instruments: City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

This book is my love. Not because of the character on the cover, but the content of the book. Spoiler alert. This is where my ultimate OTP made up and returned to each other. Although… I do love the cover too. Because of the wings. I love those feather-y type of wings. If you ask my close friends, they’ll say I have a wing-fetish. But really, I can’t help it if guys with wings look hot. LOL I am proud to say that I have two version of this book haha.

The second book on my shelf is… *drum roll everyone*

97805713304472

Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

You have no idea how long I’ve been waiting for this book. I actually requested an ARC egally of this book from Netgalley but my request was declined. Sadly. One of the main character in the book has mental illness. That is my favourite trope in YA books, or any books in general. Besides, it’s about someone with agoraphobia, and I’ve only read one story with an agoraphobic person, so I was really interested in reading this. But yeah, my request was declined. So, I have to wait for it to be published. Then, I have to wait for another month for it to arrive to my country. When it finally arrived, there was only the paperback version available, so I had to wait because I wanted hardcover version. I love dark-colored books, which was the sole reason why I wanted the hardcover. Then, by the time it was available, I had other books to buy so I decided to wait again. But then, later, I end up buying the paperback version because it was very this with less than 300 pages. I have the book now, it was part of my September book haul. But unfortunately, I haven’t’ got a chance to read it yet. Because I have this terrible habit of requesting books, and accepting book for reviews sent to me by people, and if procrastinating is a job, I’d be one of the people on the top of the chain.

Now, the third book I’m going to talk about is…

harry-potter-and-the-order-of-the-phoenix-adult-edition

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

I think this book is one of my most prized book, and the one with the most sentimental value. I received a hardcover copy of this book from my dad when I was 11, a gift he bought for me when he had a meeting in London. At that time, I wasn’t really interested in reading. I only read a few select book series: Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys, Sweet Valley, The Babysitter Club, and Mary-Kate and Ashley. Harry Potter was huge and intimidating, but then, I was so excited to know more about Harry Potter so I started reading. I didn’t even know Harry Potter has books at that time, and I certainly did not know that Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix is the fifth book. You can imagine how lost I was haha. I didn’t know any of the new characters like Lupin, Mad-eye, Tonks, Sirius… At that time, my Harry Potter knowledge was limited to the movies. After reading this, I stopped feeling intimidated by huge books and I started to branch out from Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, Sweet Valley, The Babysitter Club, and Mary-Kate and Ashley books. I started reading Buffy books, which was the start of my vampire-loving phase. And so, those are the reasons why this book is very valuable to me. Plus, it was the first book that made me cry like a baby. When Sirius died.


So, this is the end of my post. What do you think of the book I mentioned? Have you read it? Did you like them? I would love to hear what you think of them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

