Book Review: Savour the Moment by Nora Roberts

67822422
Title:
Savour the Moment (Bride Quartet #3)
Author:
Nora Roberts
Publisher: Piatkus
Publication date:
2010
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Women’s Literature
Source: Personal Copy (MPH Bookstore)
Rating: 4/5

Summary:

New Love takes the cake in the third novel in #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts’s Bride Quartet—in a stunning French flap edition

Wedding baker Laurel McBane is surrounded by romance working at Vows wedding planning company with her best friends Parker, Emma, and Mac. But she’s too low-key to appreciate all the luxuries that their clients seem to long for. What she does appreciate is a strong, intelligent man, a man just like Parker’s older brother Delaney, on whom she’s had a mega-crush since childhood.

But some infatuations last longer than others, and Laurel is convinced that the Ivy League lawyer is still out of her reach. Plus, Del is too protective of Laurel to ever cross the line with her-or so she thinks. When Laurel’s quicksilver moods get the better of her-leading to an angry, hot, all-together mind-blowing kiss with Del—she’ll have to quiet the doubts in her mind to turn a moment of passion into forever…


book-review


I have to say, Savour the Moment has got to be my favourite among the the four Bride Quartet books.

Let’s start with the cover. From the wedding cake on the cover, we all know that this book is about Laurel McBane and Delaney “Del” Brown (that is, if you read the book in order. OR, if you’re like me, and bought and read Happily Ever After on impulse without knowing that that was the final book in the Bride Quartet Series). But the hair of the model! For a whole year, I thought Laurel was dark-haired because of it. Turned out Laurel was blonde. The second time I read the book, it was hard to shift the image from a woman with dark brunette hair to blonde.

By the time I read Savour the Moment, I have already read Happily Ever After, Vision in White, and Bed of Roses. So, because of that, I could already see a pattern. It was not surprising when Laurel and Del got together, stayed together and have their HEA ending. But putting that aside, Laurel and Del’s story is my favourite of all, and Parker and Mal was a close second. Anyways, I’m getting ahead of myself. 

Part of the reasons I love this book was because Laurel is a baker, and I love baking. Even though I can’t relate to Laurel in other ways, I can relate to her through that. Other than, I like how Laurel and Del’s life has been intertwined since they were young kids. She was Parker’s best friend, one of Del’s girls, and he was protective over her. I also like the fact that Del was “the one” for Laurel. It made Laurel’s character more vulnerable, especially since she always acts so tough.

Because Savour the Moment is about Laurel and Delaney, I won’t talk about the other characters. They have their own book (Mac and Carter: Vision in White, Emma and Jack: Bed of Roses, and Parker and Mal: Happily Ever After), so they have their own time to shine.

Let us talk about Laurel:

I love Laurel, she bakes and sometimes she cooks, and I just love that because I love to bake and cook too. But if I have to rate her character, based on her overall personality, I’d say she’s 7/10.

As I’ve mentioned above, Laurel is a tough character. She has to be, after all that she’s been through. I love the quartet’s friendship, their lives are so connected. I love that kind of friendship. But you can’t deny that Laurel has her temper. I guess, it’s partly because of what she’s been through. But still, sometimes, it feels like she was looking for something to argue about with Del. I mean, okay, I can see where she’s coming from when she bit Del’s head off when he tried to pay her for the lemons, but for Dara’s cake? Del asked her as a client, so she shouldn’t have snap at him.

Now, let us talk about Del:

Del is handsome, a great lawyer with an ivy league education, comes from a rich family with good upbringing—he is practically perfect. Usually, I don’t like it when the character is a perfect guy. I don’t trust perfect guys.

But Del is different. He’s caring and overprotective when it comes to his girls (his sister, Parker, and Parker’s friends, Mac, Emma and Laurel). I guess that’s also because he knew them since they were young and they grew up together. But he’s also generous with his friends, like when he invited Mal to come with them for a vacation at the new beach house he and Parker invested in. Yes, he did invite Jack and Carter too, but that’s because they’ve been friends for a long time and they are Emma and Mac’s significant other. Mal’s different, he’s a new addition to the group but Del still asked him to join them on their vacation. So, that makes me like Del too. And if I have to rate Del, I’ll give him 7/10. Hmm, look at that, the same rating as Laurel. They’re perfect for each other. Haha

Of course there are also some things that I didn’t like about this book. No matter how much I love a book, it is impossible that there’s nothing I didn’t really like about it (okay, that’s a lie). After reading this series, one after the other without reading any other books in between, the plot becomes kind of bland and predictable for me. There wasn’t really any conflict, aside from the arguments that Laurel and Del has. There’s also no other competition for Laurel’s or Del’s love. I used to like that, because when I first read this series, I didn’t want complicated books with complicated feelings. But now, a little bit of competition for one of the main character’s affection would’ve add up some spice.

To sum it up, this book is the perfect book to read if you want something with strong friendship relationship, something with a close-knit family feel, and an uncomplicated love story. This book is also the perfect book to read when you’re feeling down, or feel like you can’t succeed in whatever business you’re attempting, because Laurel, and her friends can make it happen. Vows was and still is successful. And with this book, you can pretend that you can be that successful with your venture too, or you can really make it happen. Because of the straightforward love story, you can read this in one-sitting (if you don’t have work or chores to do).

Four years ago, I gave it a 5 / 5 stars rating. Now, I give it 4 / 5 stars rating. Even if I’ve discovered the imperfectness of this book, I am still biased.

One thought on “Book Review: Savour the Moment by Nora Roberts

  1. Pingback: Book Review Masterlist | Erucchii's Books and Recs

Leave a Reply

