Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

51MBmjWq-AL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Published date: 2nd April 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, Realistic Fiction
Date read: 4th May 2017
Rating: 5 / 5
Summary:

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.


book-review

This book promised me heartbreaking family relationship (bonus point: twins), and LGBT. Jandy Nelson delivered them. I wasn’t disappointed.

This book was written in 1st person POV, and it is told in Jude and Noah’s eyes. This book was written in a style where we go back and forth between past and present, where the past was narrated by Noah, and the present was narrated by Jude. Adam Silvera used a similar style in his book, History Is All You Left Me. The whole atmosphere of the book was melancholic that I felt choke up and sad most of the time when I was reading.

However, that didn’t mean that’s all the book made me feel. There were times when I laughed at the irony, or at the funny parts. There are times when I feel so annoyed or frustrated by someone. This book made me feel so many things that I can’t describe it properly.

As many of you know (or is going to find out), I love books with twins in it. I love books with great family relationship and siblings relationship in general, but it’s a plus if twins are involved. For some reason, twins feels more magical to me, and Jandy Nelson portrayed that in the relationship between Jude and Noah. At least, before the tragedy hits, and they were tangled in a web of lies.

I love the Noah from the past, before ugliness of jealousy and burden he carries on his should rears its head. As for Jude, I like present her more than past her, but I think I love the ending Jude the best, when she discovered herself again. I also like Guillermo Garcia, not as a person, but his relationship with Jude. I always love the platonic mentor-student relationships in books, especially involving the unlikely type of mentor, and we get that we Guillermo and Jude. Oscar is a sweetheart through and through, even when he went through his dark phase, as seen through Noah eyes. Brian though, I am so annoyed at his past self, but he came to his senses at the end of the book.

There is something that I don’t like, not the book, but something that happened in the book, but I can’t say what it was because it might spoil everything. So, I’ll just keep my mouth shut.

To sum it up, this book is so beautifully written. Noah and Jude’s voices were so unique, and the character development were great. It made me cry, and made me laugh while feeling choked up with feels all the way. It is a great coming-of-age book, and I recommend this book to readers who love reading YA revolving around art, and family relationship. I also think that fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, and History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera will enjoy this book.

I rate this book 5 / 5 stars.


So, have you read this book? Tell me what you think of it.

 

erucchii2

One thought on “Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

  1. Pingback: Book Review Masterlist | Erucchii's Books and Recs

Leave a Reply

