Story Time #1: The Time Someone Asked Me Out On A Coffee Date and I Didn’t Realize It

Hey everyone, it’s been a while. Yeah, I kind of reconnected with my inner Picasso and spend most of my time painting, in between doing chores and reading.

Today, I’m here to tell you a story (I’ll make sure to post reviews, T5W, and others soon, don’t worry) but before that, I’ll tell you what spur this on.
Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo Book Review

Title: The Truth About Happily Ever After
Author: Karole Cozzo
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication date: May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Summary:

Chin up, Princess, or the crown will slip.

A theme park princess must put her life back together after her happily ever after falls apart in The Truth About Happily Ever After, a contemporary YA romance from Karole Cozzo, author of How to Keep Rolling After a Fall and How to Say I Love You Out Loud.

Everything was supposed to be perfect. Alyssa has a job she loves, working as Cinderella at her favorite theme park; a fantastic group of friends; and a boyfriend who will no longer be long distance. But as the summer progresses, her prince becomes less charming and more distant, and Alyssa’s perfect summer falls apart.

Forced to acknowledge that life is not always a fairy tale, Alyssa starts working to pull her herself back together. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her friend Miller’s support, she’s determined to prove that she’s more than just a pretty princess. And with his help, maybe she’s finally ready for something better than dreams. Maybe she’s ready for something real.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

Continue reading

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

51MBmjWq-AL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Published date: 2nd April 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, Realistic Fiction
Date read: 4th May 2017
Rating: 5 / 5
Summary:

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Continue reading

That’s What He Said Thursday (12th May ’17)

Wow, it’s been a year since I posted anything for this meme. Just recently, I read some quotes, and there was one, said by Magnus to Alec, that I really loved. So, I wanted to share it.

Before we start, for those who doesn’t know, That’s What He Said Thursday is a bookish meme hosted by Chapter Break. For more info on what this meme is all about click here.

Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Sonora and the Eye of the Titans by T.S Hall Book Review

 

Title: Sonora and the Eye of the Titans
Author: T.S. Hall
Publication date: January 14th 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Rating: 3 / 5
Summary:

The King is dead, and the capital city of Titanis has fallen. The world of Sonora is at war, and the only hope against the onslaught of the Titan army lies with the last royal descendant of Zeus, who is being covertly sheltered on Earth in the secluded mountain town of Sandy, Oregon.

Allora is a shy, intelligent sixteen-year-old, trying to get through the gauntlet of high school while coming to terms with her otherworldly origins. After getting into a fight at soccer tryouts, Allora’s emotions boil over, and her hands suddenly burst into flames. She has harnessed the power of hadrons at the highest level, but at extreme cost. The magical outburst projects an energy signature that is detected by a group of assassins tasked with killing Sonoran rebels.

To survive, Allora, Katie, Dax, and Tanner must find a powerful ancient artifact known as the Eye of the Titans. With the help of a guardian known as Sasquatch, they will have to fight off creatures, solve complex riddles, and navigate magical caverns, all while enduring advanced calculus, jealous girlfriends, and prom.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

Continue reading

Malec Week 2017

Hey everyone~ It’s Malec Week, hosted by magnusbane-aleclightwood@Tumblr! Day 1 officially started…well, yesterday if we go by my time zone (6th May 2017). Anyways, I’m super excited…and nervous. I’ve been having a huge writer’s block when it comes to Malec fanfiction. The last one (before the one I posted for Malec Week Day 1) was almost 6 months ago. And compared to the word vomit that I posted last night, Day 1: Proposal, I think the one from 6 months ago, Upset, was better. But I guess that was mostly due to the controversial content in my Upset fan fiction.

Right now, I think my muse disappeared.

Anyways, back to Malec Week. For fan fiction writers and artists, there are 7 prompt/theme (whatever you call ’em) for each day of the week, and what I planned to write for those days.

May 6th  Day 1: Future scene (Malec Proposal)
let your imagination run wild with a scene that has yet to take place in the future of Malec

May 7th  Day 2: Disney Day (Tuck Everlasting AU!)
Write Malec as your favourite Disney characters or put them in your favourite movie

May 8th Day 3:  Back to the Middle ages. (TBD)
Kings, princes, knights, lords and more. Take Malec out of 2000 and back into the settings of 1100 – 1500 B.C

May 9th Day 4: Greek Mythology (Hades and Persephone AU!)
From Hercules to Percy Jackson, we find Magnus and Alec in a whole new world this day.

May 10th Day 5: Non-supernatural AU. (Coffee shop series)
Magnus and Alec are just mundanes for a day, but where will they meet, what do they do and what is their story.

May 11th Day 6: Switch (TBD)
Alec Lightwood is a powerful Warlock and Magnus Bane a shadowhunter.

May 12th Day 7: Missing moment (TBD)
Time to add a scene to their canon story that you wish you could have seen or read.

So yeah~ That’s the schedule, and what I have to write. Pray that my writer’s block will finally be lifted, and I can start writing decent fan fictions again.

{Aside} Rating On Goodreads Before You’ve Read It.

Book ★ Bastion

Fair Warning: Unpopular Opinions Incoming!

I’ve been debating writing this post for quite some time now. I’ve titled it “Unpopular Opinions” for a reason. I’m fully expecting this to spark a bit of discussion and yes, disagreements, but given that we’re all civilized people with strong opinions that are all worthy of merit, I felt more and more compelled to share my thoughts.

I wanted to talk today about the state of Goodreads; in particular a disturbing trend I’ve been witnessing of people maliciously rating books before they’ve actually read them.

For the record, I also take issue with people rating upcoming books that they’re looking forward to 5 stars before the book has even been published, but that’s really not what I want to focus on here. Yes, that equally skews the ratings of any book, but I think it’s more pressing that we talk about the…

View original post 1,451 more words