Book Review: One Moment by Kristina McBride

29241215Title: One Moment
Author: Kristina McBride
Published date: 17th January 2017
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery & Thrillers
Date read: 7th June 2017
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 4 / 5 stars
Summary:

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below–dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

Thank you Netgalley, and the publisher for giving me the chance to read and review this book.

Continue reading

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

51MBmjWq-AL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Published date: 2nd April 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, Realistic Fiction
Date read: 4th May 2017
Rating: 5 / 5
Summary:

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Continue reading

Book Review: History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

17807635_10155151072173917_297373255111229506_o

Title: History Is All You Left Me
Author: Adam Silvera
Published date: 17th January 2017
Published by: Soho Teen
Genre: GLBT, YA, Contemporary, Mental Illness, Romance, Angst

Date read: 6th April – 7th April 2017
Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Summary:When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.


book-review

First of all, the blurb by Nicola Yoon on the front cover was so true. I cried, and when I stopped to give my heart a break, I cried again just thinking about everything I just read, and when I resumed reading, I cried. I literally bawled my eyes out as I read. Never have I cried so much reading a book, not even when I read Girls in Pieces.

I decided to give myself a few days before writing this book review to avoid being all rant-y. Because I had time to think about it, I realized that this book…well, it is an overused plot. If not in published books, then in fanfictions. I should know because I read it a lot (I’m a masochist like that). However, Adam Silvera managed to write this so beautifully, in a way that it turned out fresh, and with ten times more angst than any others that I’ve encountered.

I think I love and hate Griffin. This book was told in Griffin’s point of view, so we’re in his head, and we get to know him. I can empathize with him. I think if I was in his shoes, I would probably do the same think. Or maybe not. If it was me, I wouldn’t have broken up with Theo. But then, I wouldn’t have talk about my insecurities and doubts either, and the relationship would turn sour as months goes by because reassurances wouldn’t help not when Theo’s so far away. And the eventual break up would hurt even more. Basically everything that Griffin feared. But then, that was also what I hated about Griffin. He made a decision for Theo, instead of talking about it with Theo. In the end, I can’t even blame Jackson for taking Theo away because it was Griffin’s own fault for letting Theo go.

The same goes for Theo, I love and hate him. Theo is a genius, and he is adorable. He was very sweet when he was with Griffin. I was totally rooting for them. And when he said yes, about being Griffin’s end game, I totally melted. Because this boy was still in love with Griffin, and I love him for that. But then, he started dating Jackson. Although I can’t blame him for that, because technically he was single, but I hate that he still had a hold on Griffin. Because he was still in love with Griffin too, and still agreed that him and Griffin would be endgame. And I think because of that, Griffin was still obsessive about him and couldn’t move on.

Jackson, oh boy, I really hated him at first. Since the start, it was like he was trying to compete with Griffin. And when I found out that he tried to make Theo stop being friends with Griffin, I kind of lost it for awhile. But then, he did kind of help Griffin found closure, so I cooled down a bit. Towards the end, I stopped hating Jackson (although I still don’t like him) because in the end, it wasn’t his fault who he fell in love with. Technically, Theo was single.

Other characters I love are Griffin’s parents, and Theo’s parents. I love how supportive they were when Griffin and Theo came out to them. And I love that they had shipped Theo and Griffin together even before the two of them became a couple. And that hilarious scene with Griffin’s dad. I love their families so much. And I love Wade too. I will let you found out the reason why by yourself.

To sum it up, this book is about a heartbreaking first love. This book is about Griffin’s journey, about him holding on to that first love and realizing that, as time passes, Theo changed but he changed too. This book is about how first love would stay with you even if your current feelings has changed.

I rate this book 5 / 5 stars.


So, this was one of the hardest book review I’ve ever written. Have anyone of you read the book? Did you enjoy it? Did you cry as much as I did? I’d love to read about your thought on this book.

Yours truly,

erucchii