Book Review: NemeSIS by Susan Marshall

33828534._UY648_SS648_Title: NemeSIS
Author: Susan Marshall
Published date: 4th April 2017
Published by: Blue Moon Publishers
Genre: YA, Middle Grade, Contemporary
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Summary:

Dad has moved out and Mom has checked out, leaving the door wide open for the beautiful, erratic Rachel to torment her “loser, loner” younger sister, Nadine. With her family in full meltdown mode, Nadine is alone, trying to cope with Rachel’s increasingly unpredictable moods. Friendless, but determined to turn her life around, Nadine meets Anne, who introduces her to field hockey and to her hot twin brothers, Matt and Cameron.

As Nadine’s star begins to rise, however, Rachel plots to bring her back down, and the tension ratchets up when Rachel starts dating Matt just as Nadine is getting to know Cameron better. When Matt’s interest starts to fade, Rachel goes into overdrive. Is Nadine ready to risk it all in a final showdown with her sister?

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book.
Continue reading

Someone Else’s Summer by Rachel Bateman Book Review

30285632Title: Someone Else’s Summer
Author: Rachel Bateman
Published date: 9th May 2017
Published by: Running Press Kids
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Summary:

Anna’s always idolized her older sister, Storm. So when Storm dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost and her family is torn apart. That is, until she finds Storm’s summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever—which includes taking an epic road trip to the coast from her sleepy Iowa town. Setting out to do everything on Storm’s list along with her sisters best friend Cameron—the boy next door—who knew that Storm’s dream summer would eventually lead to Anna’s own self-discovery?

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book.

Continue reading

Book Review: One Moment by Kristina McBride

29241215Title: One Moment
Author: Kristina McBride
Published date: 17th January 2017
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery & Thrillers
Date read: 7th June 2017
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 4 / 5 stars
Summary:

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below–dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

Thank you Netgalley, and the publisher for giving me the chance to read and review this book.

Continue reading

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

51MBmjWq-AL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Published date: 2nd April 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, Realistic Fiction
Date read: 4th May 2017
Rating: 5 / 5
Summary:

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Meg and Linus by Hanna Nowinski Book Review

Title: Meg & Linus
Author: Hanna Nowinski
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: April 18th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, LGBTQ+, Young Adult
Rating: 4 / 5 stars
Summary:

Can friendship, Star Trek, drama club, and a whole lot of coffee get two nerdy best friends through the beginning of their senior year of high school?

Meg and Linus are best friends bound by a shared love of school, a coffee obsession, and being queer. It’s not always easy to be the nerdy lesbian or gay kid in a suburban town. But they have each other. And a few Star Trek boxed sets. They’re pretty happy.

But then Sophia, Meg’s longtime girlfriend, breaks up with Meg. Linus starts tutoring the totally dreamy new kid, Danny—and Meg thinks setting them up is the perfect project to distract herself from her own heartbreak. But Linus isn’t so sure Danny even likes guys, and maybe Sophia isn’t quite as out of the picture as Meg thought she was. . . .

From crowdsourced young adult imprint Swoon Reads comes Meg & Linus by Hanna Nowinski, a fun friendship story about two quirky teens who must learn to get out of their comfort zones and take risks—even if that means joining the drama club, making new friends, and learning how to stand on your own.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

Continue reading

Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads (19th Apr ’17)

Hello everyone~ Wow, the last time I posted for T5W was March :O

For all those new people who doesn’t know what T5W is… T5W is a discussion group on Goodreads, created by Lainey, and now hosted by Sam. Each Wednesday (duh!) we’ll post our top 5 list (sometimes more) based on the given topics.

This week’s topic is Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads. This has got to be one of my favourite topics ever. The topic is kind of self-explanatory, but to make it clearer, for today’s topic, we’ll get to talk about our favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors. Unfortunately, my LGBTQ+ reads are limited to books featuring only GB and Q.
Continue reading

Book Review: History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

17807635_10155151072173917_297373255111229506_o

Title: History Is All You Left Me
Author: Adam Silvera
Published date: 17th January 2017
Published by: Soho Teen
Genre: GLBT, YA, Contemporary, Mental Illness, Romance, Angst

Date read: 6th April – 7th April 2017
Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Summary:When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.


book-review

First of all, the blurb by Nicola Yoon on the front cover was so true. I cried, and when I stopped to give my heart a break, I cried again just thinking about everything I just read, and when I resumed reading, I cried. I literally bawled my eyes out as I read. Never have I cried so much reading a book, not even when I read Girls in Pieces.

I decided to give myself a few days before writing this book review to avoid being all rant-y. Because I had time to think about it, I realized that this book…well, it is an overused plot. If not in published books, then in fanfictions. I should know because I read it a lot (I’m a masochist like that). However, Adam Silvera managed to write this so beautifully, in a way that it turned out fresh, and with ten times more angst than any others that I’ve encountered.

I think I love and hate Griffin. This book was told in Griffin’s point of view, so we’re in his head, and we get to know him. I can empathize with him. I think if I was in his shoes, I would probably do the same think. Or maybe not. If it was me, I wouldn’t have broken up with Theo. But then, I wouldn’t have talk about my insecurities and doubts either, and the relationship would turn sour as months goes by because reassurances wouldn’t help not when Theo’s so far away. And the eventual break up would hurt even more. Basically everything that Griffin feared. But then, that was also what I hated about Griffin. He made a decision for Theo, instead of talking about it with Theo. In the end, I can’t even blame Jackson for taking Theo away because it was Griffin’s own fault for letting Theo go.

The same goes for Theo, I love and hate him. Theo is a genius, and he is adorable. He was very sweet when he was with Griffin. I was totally rooting for them. And when he said yes, about being Griffin’s end game, I totally melted. Because this boy was still in love with Griffin, and I love him for that. But then, he started dating Jackson. Although I can’t blame him for that, because technically he was single, but I hate that he still had a hold on Griffin. Because he was still in love with Griffin too, and still agreed that him and Griffin would be endgame. And I think because of that, Griffin was still obsessive about him and couldn’t move on.

Jackson, oh boy, I really hated him at first. Since the start, it was like he was trying to compete with Griffin. And when I found out that he tried to make Theo stop being friends with Griffin, I kind of lost it for awhile. But then, he did kind of help Griffin found closure, so I cooled down a bit. Towards the end, I stopped hating Jackson (although I still don’t like him) because in the end, it wasn’t his fault who he fell in love with. Technically, Theo was single.

Other characters I love are Griffin’s parents, and Theo’s parents. I love how supportive they were when Griffin and Theo came out to them. And I love that they had shipped Theo and Griffin together even before the two of them became a couple. And that hilarious scene with Griffin’s dad. I love their families so much. And I love Wade too. I will let you found out the reason why by yourself.

To sum it up, this book is about a heartbreaking first love. This book is about Griffin’s journey, about him holding on to that first love and realizing that, as time passes, Theo changed but he changed too. This book is about how first love would stay with you even if your current feelings has changed.

I rate this book 5 / 5 stars.


So, this was one of the hardest book review I’ve ever written. Have anyone of you read the book? Did you enjoy it? Did you cry as much as I did? I’d love to read about your thought on this book.

Yours truly,

erucchii