Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo Book Review

Title: The Truth About Happily Ever After
Author: Karole Cozzo
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication date: May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Summary:

Chin up, Princess, or the crown will slip.

A theme park princess must put her life back together after her happily ever after falls apart in The Truth About Happily Ever After, a contemporary YA romance from Karole Cozzo, author of How to Keep Rolling After a Fall and How to Say I Love You Out Loud.

Everything was supposed to be perfect. Alyssa has a job she loves, working as Cinderella at her favorite theme park; a fantastic group of friends; and a boyfriend who will no longer be long distance. But as the summer progresses, her prince becomes less charming and more distant, and Alyssa’s perfect summer falls apart.

Forced to acknowledge that life is not always a fairy tale, Alyssa starts working to pull her herself back together. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her friend Miller’s support, she’s determined to prove that she’s more than just a pretty princess. And with his help, maybe she’s finally ready for something better than dreams. Maybe she’s ready for something real.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

Continue reading

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

51MBmjWq-AL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Published date: 2nd April 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, Realistic Fiction
Date read: 4th May 2017
Rating: 5 / 5
Summary:

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Into the Light by L.B. Simmons Book Review

into the light

Title: Into the Light (Chosen Paths Book One)
Author: L.B. Simmons
Published Date: April 25, 2017
Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Summary:

Goodreads|Amazon | Barnes & Noble 


Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Meg and Linus by Hanna Nowinski Book Review

Title: Meg & Linus
Author: Hanna Nowinski
Published by: Swoon Reads
Publication date: April 18th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, LGBTQ+, Young Adult
Rating: 4 / 5 stars
Summary:

Can friendship, Star Trek, drama club, and a whole lot of coffee get two nerdy best friends through the beginning of their senior year of high school?

Meg and Linus are best friends bound by a shared love of school, a coffee obsession, and being queer. It’s not always easy to be the nerdy lesbian or gay kid in a suburban town. But they have each other. And a few Star Trek boxed sets. They’re pretty happy.

But then Sophia, Meg’s longtime girlfriend, breaks up with Meg. Linus starts tutoring the totally dreamy new kid, Danny—and Meg thinks setting them up is the perfect project to distract herself from her own heartbreak. But Linus isn’t so sure Danny even likes guys, and maybe Sophia isn’t quite as out of the picture as Meg thought she was. . . .

From crowdsourced young adult imprint Swoon Reads comes Meg & Linus by Hanna Nowinski, a fun friendship story about two quirky teens who must learn to get out of their comfort zones and take risks—even if that means joining the drama club, making new friends, and learning how to stand on your own.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo

Continue reading

Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads (19th Apr ’17)

Hello everyone~ Wow, the last time I posted for T5W was March :O

For all those new people who doesn’t know what T5W is… T5W is a discussion group on Goodreads, created by Lainey, and now hosted by Sam. Each Wednesday (duh!) we’ll post our top 5 list (sometimes more) based on the given topics.

This week’s topic is Favorite LGBTQ+ Reads. This has got to be one of my favourite topics ever. The topic is kind of self-explanatory, but to make it clearer, for today’s topic, we’ll get to talk about our favorite books that feature LGBTQ+ characters or are by LGBTQ+ authors. Unfortunately, my LGBTQ+ reads are limited to books featuring only GB and Q.
Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Other Breakable Things by Kelley York and Rowan Altwood Book Review

OBTTour

Other Breakable Things

Title: Other Breakable Things
Authors: Kelley York and Rowan Altwood
Publication Date: April 4 ,2017
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Summary:

According to Japanese legend, folding a thousand paper cranes will grant you healing.

Evelyn Abel will fold two thousand if it will bring Luc back to her.

Luc Argent has always been intimately acquainted with death. After a car crash got him a second chance at life—via someone else’s transplanted heart—he tried to embrace it. He truly did. But he always knew death could be right around the corner again.

And now it is.

Sick of hospitals and tired of transplants, Luc is ready to let his failing heart give out, ready to give up. A road trip to Oregon—where death with dignity is legal—is his answer. But along for the ride is his best friend, Evelyn.

And she’s not giving up so easily.

A thousand miles, a handful of roadside attractions, and one life-altering kiss later, Evelyn’s fallen, and Luc’s heart is full. But is it enough to save him? Evelyn’s betting her heart, her life, that it can be.

Right down to the thousandth paper crane.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca | Entangled Publishing


book-review

Best friends + Road trip = ❤

So yes, I was so excited to read this book. But I was also skeptical because of the “death with dignity is legal” thing. I didn’t want it to be another Me Before You book, not that it wasn’t good and but because I was torn. I like it but it goes against my religious and morale beliefs.

I am SO glad it didn’t come to that in the end.

I love Luc and Evelyn so much. Evelyn was an outcast and Luc was her only friend. I love that, that’s like one of my favourite tropes. Male-female friendship, friends-to-lovers…who doesn’t like that?

There’s one thing that I’m not really fond of about this book. It was written in 1st person POV. While I’ve grown to like 1st POV over the years, I could still be put off by some of it, especially the badly written ones. Or the ones where the narrator just tell you stuff instead of showing it through actions. And while this book didn’t completely put me off, but it still made this book less enjoyable for me. I still enjoyed it, but less.

Overall, I like this book. I think it has the potential to be better, but I like it nonetheless. I think I would’ve cried much more too, instead of just in the end. At least it didn’t make me laugh less though. Or make me stop awe-ing at some of the sweet stuff.

I rate this book 3.5 / 5 stars.

Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for giving me the opportunity to review the ARC of Other Breakable Things.


Author info:

Kelley York and Rowan Altwood are a wife and wife writing team living in central California with their daughter and way too many cats. Kelley is the author of Hushed, Made of Stars, and Modern Monsters, and Other Breakable Things is Rowan’s debut.
Website | Kelley York Twitter | Rowan Altwood Twitter | Author | Kelley York Goodreads | Rowan Altwood Goodreads

Giveaway:

Other Breakable Things Prize Pack: Signed copy of Modern Monsters by Kelley York and an origami crane kit (US)
OR
eBook of Modern Monsters by Kelley York + a $25 Amazon Gift Card (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite Non-Written Novels (15th Feb ’17)

Hey guys~ As usual, I am late. Wednesday was yesterday for me. This also happens to be my first T5W post of the year. 😀 As you all know, Top 5 Wednesday is a discussion group on Goodreads, started by Lainey and now moderated by Sam.

This week’s topic is Favourite Non-Written Novels. Basically, it means any top 5 fav manga, comics, graphic novels…etc. any others books except for the normal novel, you can list it down.

Mine will definitely be filled with manga, haha. I mostly read shoujo manga (romantic, sweet, fluffy manga that is sure to make a girl’s heart go doki doki), and yaoi manga (LGBT manga, well, yaoi specifically focused on gay love). But sometimes I do like to read action/ fantasy manga.

So, on to the list… Continue reading