Book Review: One Moment by Kristina McBride

29241215Title: One Moment
Author: Kristina McBride
Published date: 17th January 2017
Publisher: Sky Pony Press
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mystery & Thrillers
Date read: 7th June 2017
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 4 / 5 stars
Summary:

This was supposed to be the best summer of Maggie’s life. Now it’s the one she’d do anything to forget.

Maggie remembers hanging out at the gorge with her closest friends after a blowout party. She remembers climbing the trail with her perfect boyfriend, Joey. She remembers that last kiss, soft, lingering, and meant to reassure her. So why can’t she remember what happened in the moment before they were supposed to dive? Why was she left cowering at the top of the cliff, while Joey floated in the water below–dead?

As Maggie’s memories return in snatches, nothing seems to make sense. Why was Joey acting so strangely at the party? Where did he go after taking her home? And if Joey was keeping these secrets, what else was he hiding?

Thank you Netgalley, and the publisher for giving me the chance to read and review this book.

Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Cherished by Christina Bauer Book Review

Title: Cherished (Beholder #3)
Author: Christina Bauer
Published by: Monster House Books
Publication date: May 30th 2017
Genres: Paranormal, Young Adult
Rating: 4 / 5 stars
Summary:

For Elea, there’s never been a better time to turn away from witch life. The Tsar is in exile. The Vicomte is dead. And Rowan? Falling for him only broke her heart. Instead of casting spells, Elea spends her days running Braddock Farm and enjoying the flirtations of the very handsome and non-magical Philippe. Everything is going perfectly, except for one problem.

Someone’s trying to kill her.

Shujaa is a Changed One, a Creation Caster mage whose mutated form makes him invincible in battle. Now that the Tsar and Vicomte are gone, Shujaa wants to rise and rule. To do so, he must eliminate all those powerful enough to oppose him, and Elea is top on his list. Anyone who offers her aid quickly ends up dead.

In the end, there’s only one person who can keep Elea safe while helping her defeat Shujaa: Rowan. Like it or not, Elea must team up with her old love. With Philippe along for the ride, Elea plans to team with Rowan without losing her heart this time. But that’s when all her plans fall apart…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

Continue reading

Top 5 Wednesday | Fandoms You Are No Longer In (30th May ’17)

Good evening, everyone~ As per usual, I’m late.

By now, I think most of you know the drill. Top 5 Wednesday is a discussion group on Goodreads, currently hosted by Sam, where we get to list out our top 5 fav books based on the topics given.

This week’s topic is Fandoms I am No longer In.

Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn Book Review

Title: Girl on the Verge
Author: Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Summary:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

Continue reading

Story Time #1: The Time Someone Asked Me Out On A Coffee Date and I Didn’t Realize It

Hey everyone, it’s been a while. Yeah, I kind of reconnected with my inner Picasso and spend most of my time painting, in between doing chores and reading.

Today, I’m here to tell you a story (I’ll make sure to post reviews, T5W, and others soon, don’t worry) but before that, I’ll tell you what spur this on.
Continue reading

Blog Tour & Giveaway: The Truth About Happily Ever After by Karole Cozzo Book Review

Title: The Truth About Happily Ever After
Author: Karole Cozzo
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Publication date: May 16th 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Rating: 3 / 5 stars
Summary:

Chin up, Princess, or the crown will slip.

A theme park princess must put her life back together after her happily ever after falls apart in The Truth About Happily Ever After, a contemporary YA romance from Karole Cozzo, author of How to Keep Rolling After a Fall and How to Say I Love You Out Loud.

Everything was supposed to be perfect. Alyssa has a job she loves, working as Cinderella at her favorite theme park; a fantastic group of friends; and a boyfriend who will no longer be long distance. But as the summer progresses, her prince becomes less charming and more distant, and Alyssa’s perfect summer falls apart.

Forced to acknowledge that life is not always a fairy tale, Alyssa starts working to pull her herself back together. Fortunately, she doesn’t have to do it alone. With her friend Miller’s support, she’s determined to prove that she’s more than just a pretty princess. And with his help, maybe she’s finally ready for something better than dreams. Maybe she’s ready for something real.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo

Continue reading

Book Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

51MBmjWq-AL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books
Published date: 2nd April 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, Realistic Fiction
Date read: 4th May 2017
Rating: 5 / 5
Summary:

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Continue reading