Blog Tour & Giveaway: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn Book Review

Title: Girl on the Verge
Author: Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Summary:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

Continue reading

Blog Tour: High Summons by Eli Celata Book

Hight Summons .jpg

high-summons-book-cover

Title: High Summons
Author: Eli Celata
Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

Hosted by: Ultimate Fantasy Book Tours

Blurb:

Jon Blythe is sick of waiting for his Yoda. After years of hiding his magic, he’s ready to retire from his mortal life, drop out of college, and jump into the world of demon hunters. He just didn’t really expect a bleach blond bookstore clerk with light up toys for weapons. Unfortunately, Jordan is Jon’s only hope. When rogue magic users come to Rochester with a malicious plan, the odd couple strikes out to save the day. Jordan might not be what Jon expected, but between demons and Econ homework, the demons win every time. Wild nights drag Jon further from normal into the world where his father vanished. Maybe he’s becoming an addict. Maybe magic just comes with a price. Either way, he’s hooked.

4d534-addtogoodreads


book-review

This is definitely my kind of book. Magic. I love magic.

It started out slow, but I really enjoyed it as the book progressed. The fact that that the characters in this book is diverse is also a bonus point that makes me like this book.

I love Jordan a lot, and to be honest, I wasn’t that fond of Jon at the beginning. But Jon kind of grew on me. I also like the camaraderie between Jon and Jordan. I laughed a lot while reading this book, even at parts that others (my sister, because I showed her that part) didn’t find amusing.

I think fans of The Mortal Instruments might find this book interesting (because I know I did). I would also recommend this book to fans of YA Urban Fantasy books. I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.


Eli Celata.jpg

Author Bio:

Eli Celata was born in Rochester and is currently attending Binghamton University as a doctoral student.

 

Author’s Social Media Links:

twitterfacebooktumblr

Buy Links for Book:

Amazon:  https://goo.gl/PQ7lzh

Kobe: https://goo.gl/4ZrKVs

Smashwords: https://goo.gl/eYuVNU

iTunes: https://itun.es/us/MEqCdb.l

ufb-tour-banner-for-yola

Top 5 Wednesday | Favourite Diverse Characters

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey (gingereadslainey on YT) on goodsreads. This week’s T5W topic is Favourite Diverse Characters.


Magnus Bane from Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunters series (he appeared in The Infernal Devices, and The Mortal Instruments). Magnus is my no. 1 favourite in these series :D. He is a half-Asian warlock, and he is bisexual. The thing that endeared Magnus the most to me was that even though he said he wouldn’t help the shadowhunters anymore, he still end up helping. But that’s only one of the reason that makes me love Magnus. If I were to list everything out, I’d be writing an esay.

Helen Blackthorn from the Mortal Instruments series. She is half-nephilim and half-faerie, and a lesbian. She’s in a relationshop with Aline Penhallow, another nephilim. I love her personality, and she’s also pretty. She’s the reason why I don’t end up disliking Aline throughout the rest of the Mortal Instruments books.

Maia Roberts from The Mortal Instruments series.  She was born into a biracial family, and she’s a werewolf. I don’t really like her at the beginning, but throught the books, she grew on me. I think that she’s so badass and clever, because she became the new leader for her pack of werewolves even though she’s still a teen.

Matt from By Any Other Name. He is a minor side character, who has very little scenes in the book. He is nineteen, Joe’s older brother. He lost both his legs not long after he joined the army, but despite his disability, he is still very lively and not bitter. He is awesome, and I can’t say why because that’ll be a spoiler.

Maora (Ichinomiya Yoshitaka) from Shinshi Doumei Cross. He is a bisexual crossdresser. At least, I think he is bisexual (instead of gay) because he did try to win the female protagonist’s love in one of the books. I love him because he’s clever, and really looks like a girl when he cross-dresses. And his pet mini-sheep is just adorable. He’s very strong too 😛


So… those are all my top 5 favourite diverse characters. I realized I haven’t read that many books that has diverse characters (or I didn’t notice them) because most of my favs came from the same book series.

Anyways, I’d like to know some of your favourite diverse characters too. Comment down below to list them out, or just to say hi~ 🙂