Blog Tour & Giveaway: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn Book Review

Title: Girl on the Verge
Author: Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Summary:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

Continue reading

Advertisements

Book Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

20801166Title: A Little Something Different
Author:
Sandy Hall
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Published date: 26th August 2014
Source: Own copy
Date read: 14th January 2017
Rating: 4/5 stars
Summary: 

The creative writing teacher, the delivery guy, the local Starbucks baristas, his best friend, her roommate, and the squirrel in the park all have one thing in common—they believe that Gabe and Lea should get together. Lea and Gabe are in the same creative writing class. They get the same pop culture references, order the same Chinese food, and hang out in the same places. Unfortunately, Lea is reserved, Gabe has issues, and despite their initial mutual crush, it looks like they are never going to work things out.  But somehow even when nothing is going on, something is happening between them, and everyone can see it. Their creative writing teacher pushes them together. The baristas at Starbucks watch their relationship like a TV show. Their bus driver tells his wife about them. The waitress at the diner automatically seats them together. Even the squirrel who lives on the college green believes in their relationship.

Surely Gabe and Lea will figure out that they are meant to be together….


book-review

True facts:

  1. I didn’t buy this book because of the cover (Okay, I lied. 45% IS because of the cover).
  2. This book totally failed the Bechdel Test, but
  3. It has diverse characters!

So, when I went into the bookstore today, I saw this book, oh so pink, and I went to the shelf and picked it up. I looked it up on Goodreads, and happened to read the few sentences of this one review:

“The book was so adorable” and “the reviewer loved the bus driver and the squirrel POVs”.

A Little Something Different is a book about Lea and Gabe doing their awkward dance around each other before finally getting their shit together BUT — and here’s the twist — it is written in the people around the two main characters’ POV ie. friends, brother, baristas…

To add on the drama in the book, there’s this little mystery in there that we’ve got to figure out. I am so dying to tell about me being a great sleuth, being able to put two and two together, but then I don’t want to spoil it for other readers who might want to connect the dots themselves too.

Using the multiple POVs to tell the story is the main reason why I bought this book. One, it was unique; and two, people say that it was well-written. And I am happy to say that it really was. And the adorableness. People say it was adorable, and it was. I couldn’t help squealing and smiling ear-to-ear.

I think my most favourite POV has got to be Inga, their Creative Writing Professor. At first, it was mainly because she used Buffy the Vampire Slayer reference, even if it wasn’t intentional. She was also funny, with how much she shipped Lea and Gabe, and the extent she’d go to push Lea and Gabe together.

I also loved the Squirrel’s POV, and I was glad I did, because this was another reason why I wanted to read the book. The Squirrel’s POV was funny, and it felt like a little reprieve from the drama between Lea and Gabe. Aside from that, the squirrel was cute, unlike that crazy squirrel from Ice Age.

This was a bit surprising, but I came to like Victor’s POV too. It was funny to read about how he hated Lea and Gabe but then, he was all tangled in their business. Also how, even though he didn’t want to admit it, he thought the two of them were cute together.

There are more POVs I liked, like Charlotte the barista, and Maxine the waitress, but I’m afraid if I write about every one of them, this will never end. So, I’ll leave you guys to make that discovery on your own.

Of course, even with how much I love one book, there has to be something that I didn’t like. And I’m afraid to say that, there was a time when I didn’t like Lea a lil bit. I get why she acted that way, but I wished she could be a bit nicer when Gabe wanted to open up.

To sum it all up, this book is so adorably sweet that you will get cavities. If you wanted to do some light reading, this is the book for you. If you wanted a pick-me-up book to cheer you up, this is your book. If you wanted a book with sweet brotherly relationship, this is your book.

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.


About the author:

Sandy Hall is a teen librarian from New Jersey where she was born and raised. She has a BA in Communication and a Master of Library and Information Science from Rutgers University. When she’s not writing, or teen librarian-ing, she enjoys reading, slot machines, marathoning TV shows, and long scrolls through Tumblr. A LITTLE SOMETHING DIFFERENT is her first novel.

Sandy Hall’s website | Tumblr | Twitter

 

Dumbledore’s Army Readathon #DAReadAThon

Dumbledore’s Army Readathon is a Harry Potter themed readathon (Duh!), which focuses on diverse books, especially #ownvoices books. This DAReadAThon is hosted by Aentee @ ReadatMidnight. It begins on January 1st, 2017 and ends on January 15th, 2017.

This will be my first time participating in a readathon, so I am so excited. Below is my sign up card:

dareadathon-id-ravenclaw

…and this is my TBR list for the prompts:

dareadathon-expecto-patronum

TBD

da-readathon-expelliarmus

georgia-peachesI often read books about gay main characters, since that’s my preference when reading LGBTQ books, and  I do read the occasional books about trans, and others. But I’ve always avoided reading books with lesbian main characters. It’s nothing against them though, just something ingrained in me after going to an all-girls school from 7 – 17 years old.

So, I decided to read this, where the main characters are lesbian.

da-readathon-protego

24879132I went to Goodreads, and looked at the list of books people shelves as #ownvoices, and here’s one of the books I saw. I’ve been meaning to read this one, so I chose this.

da-readathon-reducto

51totttrsjlI think this choice is pretty self-explanatory.

dareadathon-impedimenta

51nllr2esfl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Challenger deep has been sitting on my bookshelf since September this year. I really should start reading it.

dareadathon-stupefy

Achilles.jpg

Two of my good friends in RL have read this book, and confirmed that  this book deserved all the hypeness it gets. I’ve attempted to read this a few times before but never really got far, because my mind wanted to read something else instead.

So this time, I hope to finally finish reading this book.

 

 

 

dareadthon-lumos

27774758I don’t remember which, but one of the booktubers I followed recommended this. I’ve had this since September as well, but have not read it. I did attempt to once, but I had a reading slump at that time, and could not get invested in the book.

 

 

 

 


So, this will be my TBR for January as well, because I don’t think I will be able to finish all of those in two weeks, unless of course I decided not to read anything else other than books (which would be impossible because I can’t give up fanfictions even for just two weeks).

I’ve included the link to the original post in case anyone is interested in checking out the original post, and see how this works.

To everyone else who’s joining, good luck 🙂