Blog Tour & Giveaway: Girl on the Verge by Pintip Dunn Book Review

Title: Girl on the Verge
Author: Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars
Summary:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / iBooks

Continue reading

Advertisements

Blog Tour + Giveaway: Pretty Fierce by Kieran Scott Guest Post

9781492637981-PRTitle: Pretty Fierce
Author: Kieran Scott
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Thriller & Mystery
Published Date: April 4, 2017
Published by: Sourcebooks Fire
Rating: 4 / 5 stars

An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat novel about a teen who, when backed into a corner, fights back, from the author of What Waits in the Woods.

Summary:

Kaia has been on the run her whole life. The daughter of professional assassins, she knows danger—and she’ll do anything to survive. After her parents vanished during a job gone bad, Kaia’s spent the last year in hiding, trying to blend in as an ordinary teenager, and there’s no one who makes her feel more normal, more special, than her boyfriend, Oliver.

But when she’s attacked by someone from her mother’s past and Oliver catches her fighting back, Kaia’s secret is exposed. In a split-second decision, she flees the small town, taking Oliver with her. Stalked at every turn, Oliver and Kaia must protect each other…or die trying.

Buy Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Kobo | iTunes | Indiebound


guest post

How to create a character:

There are a lot of things to think about when you sit down and start to create a character. I usually like to start with the broad strokes—the things about the character that are going to drive the plot, because to me, plot is an extension of the character. The most important thing to figure out is What does my character want? What is his or her purpose in the story? In the case of Kaia in PRETTY FIERCE, she wants her family back, but she thinks that’s an impossibility, until some crazy man attacks her and implies her mom is still alive. Now, her truest desire is piqued. There may be a way to get her family back—at least part of it—and from that moment on, every move she makes, every decision she comes to, will be in service of fulfilling that desire. In every scene of Pretty Fierce, I had to come at Kaia from an angle of “How can she use this situation to get herself closer to an answer about her mom?” So there were moments when I had to wonder, Would she really stop to grab a burger if she was so close to another clue? Would she keep Oliver with her if she thought he might prevent her from getting what she wanted? What would her next logical move be in her mission to find her mother?

Now, this is not to say that she doesn’t have other wants and needs. She obviously does need to stop and eat once in a while, but someone on a mission like hers would probably grab something quick and not care much what it is. Whereas, someone whose mission is to become a better cook would eat all day, try different things, really think about the experience of tasting and savoring Someone whose mission was to impress a girl who liked spicy foods would seek out the most exotic restaurant he could find and eat the spiciest thing on the menu and try not to cry. Every decision a person makes says something about them, and that’s important to remember when writing a new character.

On a more practical level, one thing I like to do when I start out a story is answer a list of questions about my characters, from the most general, down to the most detailed. I have about fifty of them, and they’re questions I came up with myself., so you can feel free to make up your own list that suits the way you write. On my list, the first are things like name, age, parents, siblings, where they live and things like that. The more detailed are things like “What’s his/her favorite piece of clothing?” “What does he/she never leave the house without?” “What’s on the floor of his/her bedroom?” “Who was the last person he/she kissed?” Knowing these little things about a character helps you make them come alive for the reader and helps you understand the person you’re writing a bit better.

Every writer has their own way of doing things, but this is mine. I hope it helps spark some new ideas. Happy writing!


Author’s bio:

12067_707215_hrKIERAN SCOTT is the author of several acclaimed young adult novels, including the Non-Blonde Cheerleader trilogy, the He’s So/She’s So trilogy, and Geek Magnet. She also wrote the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Private and Privilege series under the pen name Kate Brian. She is a senior editor at Disney/Hyperion and resides in New Jersey with her family. Visit kieranscott.net.

Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pretty Fierce

Book Review: One Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards

51j2weuxgjl-_sx331_bo1%2c204%2c203%2c200_Title: One Was Lost
Author:
Natalie D. Richards
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication date:
4th October 2016
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Thriller/ Mystery
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 3.5 / 5 stars

Summary:

Damaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Are they labels or a warning? The answer could cost Sera everything.

Murder, justice, and revenge were so not a part of the plan when Sera set out on her senior camping trip. After all, hiking through the woods is supposed to be safe and uneventful.

Then one morning the group wakes up groggy, confused, and with words scrawled on their wrists: Damaged. Deceptive. Dangerous. Darling. Their supplies? Destroyed. Half their group? Gone. Their chaperone? Unconscious. Worst of all, they find four dolls acting out a murder—dolls dressed just like them.

Suddenly it’s clear; they’re being hunted. And with the only positive word on her wrist, Sera falls under suspicion…

I received this ARC from Netgalley in exchange for my honest review.


book-review

You give this book to a paranoid girl, and she will never want to try camping, ever (or maybe that’s just me).

Months ago, I was pulled in by the summary. My initial thought was “Oooh, a survival story with a possible murderer mixed in it.”

I love Criminal Minds you see, and NCIS, CSI… you got the gist of it. So, after reading the summary, I thought it’ll have a Criminal Minds feel to it, minus the investigation part that is. And I got it. The feel, that is. There wasn’t much in terms of a survival story, but I was properly spooked. Well, for some scenes.

I have to confess, I kind of was prepared to be disappointed. Most of the YA books I read that tries to have a lil bit of mystery in them tends to be predictable, or sometimes, the author tries so hard to make it mysterious and keep us guessing that the clues doesn’t fall in place smoothly or information was withheld. I was surprised though (I’m sorry I had little faith, but I was disappointed too many times before) that I wasn’t able to guess who the real psycho was.

Because I couldn’t guess who did that to them, and I wanted to know who it was, I ended up reading everything in one sitting. Well, kind of. I actually read this as soon as my request was approved on Netgalley. But I had to stop halfway, and didn’t read this book again, until now. Today, I started from the beginning again, and read everything in one sitting.

The characters lack character development though, and somehow, I couldn’t get invested in any of them. When I think about the characters, I felt…neutral. I neither like or dislike them. But I guess I didn’t mind much, I got what I wanted from the book: To be properly spooked.

To sum it up, if you want a reason to get out of a camping trip, just read this book. If you want to fast read that will give you all those spooky feelings, this is the book for you. Okay, so I don’t know if it’s just me, but I managed to read it in one day so I’ll consider it a fast read. If you’re a expecting a great survival story, then this book is not for you. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.